administrative right when altering a jpg

miltkk

so this has been an ongoing(like years) issue. though NOT a big deal

as an artist i often have to alter photographs..

there are times, i'll say 40/60 that i am prevented for altering an image.
i have to right click the image and properties>select security>edit, and i have the check ALL administrative rights to alter the image. click ok and i can alter the image.

i checked and i AM administrator, so why have i been confronted with this
this usually is the case with old images. if for instance i add a new image, there's no problem.

i really cannot pinpoint a cause as this seems to happen randomly. maybe there is a specific cause but i do not why.

It seems like you are experiencing a recurring issue where you are unable to alter certain images on your computer despite being an administrator. This issue typically occurs with older images, while newer ones do not pose the same problem. While it is difficult to pinpoint the exact cause without more information, there are a few potential reasons for this issue.

One possibility is that the security settings for those specific files have been set to restrict modifications. When you right-click on the image, go to properties, and select security, you are essentially adjusting the permissions for that particular file to grant yourself administrative rights. This temporary adjustment allows you to make the desired alterations. However, the fact that you need to do this for some images and not others indicates that there may be specific settings associated with those files that prevent you from altering them by default.