Windows 7 Changing startup sound

Discussion in 'Desktop Customization' started by fjgold, Feb 13, 2009.

  1. LAN Dude

    LAN Dude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    The attached has been my startup sound for 16 years... It came with my first Audigy card. I loved it. :mad:
     

    Attached Files:

  2. gabrielpereca

    gabrielpereca New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Without dual-boot -> Takeown command!!!

    I used the "takeown" command to take control of the imageres.dll and worked :p

    Thankyou guys!!
     
  3. hclarkjr

    hclarkjr Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanx for this information, been trying to do this since i moved to 7 and never found this thread till today. damn google failed me!!! :mad:
     
  4. albert2010

    albert2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Change startup sound in windows 7


    You are a respectable footmen and actually a genius .... A week ago, looking for change in tone to begin for Windows 7. Everyone says no words, even a computer engineer does not know.
    But this way I actually changed the tone and you have my respect
     
  5. Forum

    Forum New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is my first post here, hope that I can get some help :p

    I am running x64, follow the steps and it doesn't work..
    I copied the imageres.dll to desktop, modified it by reshack, and boot the system by XP. Open window7's drive, copy and paste the file
    from desktop to system32. However, when I boot my computer by windows7, I receive the error "Window Explorer has stopped working"
    ( Problem Signature: Event Name APPCRASH ) and asking me to restart the program. I can hear the modified sound once I click restart.
    But it is annoying since I have to click it every time..

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  6. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    First off, I wouldn't have booted into XP to change the imageres.dll file. I would follow the instructions of Super Sarge in his post. Make sure you get the Resource Hacker 3.5.0.82 Beta version as you are running 64 bit. I'm forever swapping my imageres.dll files out using the rename, copy 'n' paste method and I've never had a problem yet.

    I will add two things to Super Sarge's instructions though:

    1) Take ownership of your imageres.dll files before you start doing anything.

    2) You are running x64. You have two imageres.dll files to change. One is in your System32 folder and the other is in the SysWOW64 folder. Luckily the imageres.dll file is the same in both folders, but be aware that if you wanted to modify say, your shell32.dll at anytime, those are different. Best to always check or change them individually.
     
    #46 Elmer, Sep 15, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
  7. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Do 1st and 2nd, Re-boot. Done.

    Untitled.

    Done from inside a running Windows 7 System.
     
  8. Forum

    Forum New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your reply.

    Yeah... I followed all his steps. I havn't copy the imageres.dll to SysWOW64 before though.
    However, I have the same error even I copy it to SysWOW64 :\
    Any ideas? My wave file is only 240kb..
     
  9. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    I would be highly tempted to start afresh with a new un-modified imageres.dll, they can be found at the following locations.

    C:\Windows\winsxs\amd64_microsoft-windows-imageres_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_38b294da11970cde\imageres.dll

    C:\Windows\winsxs\Backup\x86_microsoft-windows-imageres_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7600.16385_none_dc93f95659399ba8_imageres.dll_44f44625


    As I say I've never had a problem changing the files over.... So I'm sadly at a loss for further suggestions.

    Just for your info, the wave file I used for a while was just shy of 2.4mb in size and caused no issues.
     
  10. Super Sarge

    Super Sarge New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,737
    Likes Received:
    64
    I have never changed the one in the SysWOW64 folder and never have had a problem. However if you ever have to do a system repair using the W7 Repair disc or the W7 disc be aware the start up sound goes back to the W7 default sound. This method for changing the sound also works on Vista 32 bit at least it did for me.


     
  11. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    I had a bit of confusion the once when changing icons due to the fact I'd forgotten the imageres sysWOW file. That's why I always change them both, that is, if there are two.
     
  12. Forum

    Forum New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, I tried but it doesn't work still.. Looks like I dont have luck..
    With the new dll, I don't receive the APP CRASH error if I unchecked "Play Windows Startup sound" tho
    I am not sure where is my problem.... :(
     
  13. sadguy

    sadguy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Change startup sound in windows 7

    after doing these steps and a restart, I have an issue with booting the log in screen properly. The background comes up, but no start up sound, or user name/password box, hence i cannot log in. right before this, the laptop installed some updates.

    any ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated
     
  14. Larry

    Larry New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Change startup sound in windows 7

    Your method works very well, if followed exactly. I have just changed the startup sound on my Win 7 64-bit system.
    Just to see if it could be done, of course. Thank you for the information. Question, were you ever stationed in
    Ramstein?
     
  15. BobHelms

    BobHelms Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    2
    I made all those changes to my W7 PRO-64 imageres.dll. It turned out quite well. However I recently supplemented my laptop display with a 24" LED monitor with built in speakers. Now when I boot my startup sound will randomly be incomplete, i.e. I only hear the very end of it. I have not figured out any way to make it consistently fail. Does anyone know how imageres.dll gets queued up to be executed or played. Is it supposed to wait on any other task before running? Is there any way to make it run last?

    Has anyone figured out why MS took the startup sound customization out of W7 and yet left the "Exit Windows" sound untouched? Are there any MS engineers out there who can please comment / expound on that logic?!:confused:
     
    #55 BobHelms, Apr 20, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2011
  16. mvagusta

    mvagusta New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    This worked nicely, at my 4yo's request, I put in a ~1.7mb wav of "I'm a goofy goober yeah, you're a goofy goober yeah, we're all goofy goobers yeah, gooby gooby gooby gooby yeah!!!"

    Is there anyway to get the startup sound to play sooner? As the sound begins to play when windows has basically finished loading and ready for use, which is a bit late we think :(

    We'd like the sound to play when the boot screen appears... we put up a ~213kb pic of the main toy story characters, and having goofy goobers playing whilst they are up would be very cool we think :teeth:
     
  17. degeus

    degeus New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I changed the IMAGERES.DLL for having special start-up sound. Now my Windows 7 does not let me replace the original.
    How do I change authorization so that I can put the new file into the System32 folder?
    Thanks in advance,
    Piet de Geus
    Netherlands
     
  18. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
  19. degeus

    degeus New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was really helpful!!!!!
    Thanks,
    It works fine
    Piet
     
  20. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Glad you got things sorted satisfactorily.
     

Share This Page

Loading...