Chrome slow ram high

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by billzant, Jun 12, 2014.

  1. billzant

    billzant Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear Forum,

    How are you?

    First post in this part of the forum as I have just installed windows 8.

    At the moment it feels like a huge mistake as everything is so slow.

    I was using the same computer with windows 7 then that wouldn't load so I installed windows 8. Same machine, same software, same data, just different windows.

    I have spent most of the day installing and tweaking but in truth the problem shows itself mostly in my browser, it is just so slow loading the pages. I thought it could be 100% cpu but it turns out the cpu is OK but the ram, 8Gb, is up near 80 and 90 %.

    I am prepared to buy extra ram if I can but can I be sure that is the problem?

    Hope you are keeping well,

    All the Best,

    BillZ
     
  2. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    The ram could be part of the problem, as Windows progresses it uses more and more, (I now have 32 gigs) but I'm surprised that it effects Chrome that much.

    I haven't found Windows 8 to be slower then Windows 7 in any noticeable way.
    I don't like it but I do get better performance then in 7.

    But I think that 16 Gigs of ram is the new 8, now that Windows 8 is here.

    Did you upgrade to 8 from 7 without reinstalling your software?
    If so I would remove Chrome and install the latest version.

    Run CCleaner and turn off any start up items you don't need.
    I only run 11 out of over 40 things it would start by default.

    http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

    Make sure your new install is defragmented, (I use Defraggler) from the same place as CCleaner.
    The big advantage of running Defraggler is that after your initial defrag, you can do only the files that need it in just a few minutes.

    Other then that, I don't really have any other suggestions.

    Mike
     
  3. billzant

    billzant Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear Mike,

    Thanks for this.

    I woke up today and the computer was completely dead.

    So that windows 7 crashing and then all that erratic behaviour with chrome especially was just death throes.

    It is interesting that you say the speed is no different. I suppose I'll just have to get used to that new start stuff.

    As I will be buying a new laptop I will try and make it 16Gb.

    I had reinstalled all the software before sending the post, I use CrapCleaner and have an autodefrag programme.

    Thanks again for the now defunct advice, it all helps.

    Hope you are keeping well,

    All the Best,

    BillZ
     
  4. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    You don't have to get used to the start stuff unless you want to, I didn't.

    I installed Classic Shell, Rocket Dock and Modern Mix and use my computer just the way I did in Windows 7.

    My computer boots to the desktop, I don't use any of the apps, I use the normal stuff like Chrome, Thunderbird, etc.

    I occasionally use the Metro interface mainly from the search apps function to quickly find some application I don't know exactly how to get to in W8 but for the most part I have everything I use on the desktop.

    [​IMG]

    My icons are all organised right to left, Games, Windows Maintenance Tools, Graphic Arts, and Video Editing Software and last 3D Related Apps. These are all on my Rocket Dock.

    The things that go on the Task bar are for the most part the applications that I want to be visible and available when I have a program running, I.e. I can access Chrome, Word, Skype, Fraps etc, while I'm working in a program.

    The other reason for working like this as opposed to in Metro is that I can use app switching from the task bar and have multiple windows open.

    I often switch back and forth between several open applications when I'm working like Photoshop Indesign and Word. It's much easier this way.

    Everything is one click away.

    http://www.classicshell.net/downloads/

    http://www.stardock.com/products/modernmix/download.asp

    http://rocketdock.com/

    I also recomend...

    http://www.mythicsoft.com/agentransack

    The best search utility that I've found, much better then the native Windows search engine.

    Mike
     
  5. billzant

    billzant Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dear Mike,

    Thanks for this.

    I will try the search.

    You seem to do more than me but have a similar approach to organisation. I use stardock fences to have files I regularly use on the desktop, and I use gadget launchers for the software at the side, and my main software is pinned to the taskbar in the same way you do. But setting up the gadget takes time. I found "gadget8" something for setting up a sidebar on windows 8 to use gadgets from W7.

    You can help with 2 irritations that I picked up the short time I used windows 8. I live alone and don't need security. During setup it asked me for my hotmail address, and then every time I loaded I had to enter a password - irritation.

    The second irritation was that I opened an email from metro. I replied and have phrase express in the quick launch and couldn't access it to reply in the email.


    I would also like to know how you go direct to the desktop, I waited until the metro loaded and clicked the desktop.

    I was also thinking of using the metro to store my software, will have to investigate that.

    Thanks for your help.

    Hope you are keeping well,

    All the Best,

    BillZ
     
  6. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,052
    Likes Received:
    303
    Hi

    To get rid of the password switch to a local account...

    http://www.eightforums.com/tutorials/4842-local-account-switch-windows-8-a.html

    Classic Shell takes care of booting to the desktop, just select boot direct to desktop.

    I Install all my software from the desktop and put it where I want, a lot of it isn't on my C:\ drive.

    I use Mozilla Thunderbird for my email client, the Windows 8 mail app, couldn't even open my Comcast mail account.
    I just open it from the task bar and it works in a normal way.

    I'd give Classic Shell a try, I used it even when I was running Widows 7, because it fixed some issue that it had, like my choice of program menus that don't scroll, and a better Windows Explorer.

    It's free and you can actually turn it on and off when ever you want to, your not stuck with using all the time, (I've never found a reason to do so, you still have full access to the metro interface it you want it).

    Mike
     

Share This Page

Loading...