Windows 7 Computer Freezes with Solid Red Screen. Error 124

jasonelmore

Computer Freezes with Solid Red Screen. Error 124 is what windows tells me.

I had posted this on another forum, but nobody there has responded for several days now. So i'm gonna quote what i told them.

I have the same exact problem as the OP has told us about. out of no-where, the screen will turn solid red. It has happened about 5 times already, and started yesterday night shortly after installing my new GTX 680 and Link Removed - Invalid URL. Out of those 5 times, I only got a error dump once from windows.

Error code 124. BlueScreenView says it has something to do with NTOSKRNL.EXE. Upon further research, this error is related to Hardware Failure.

I'm a computer technician, do it for a living, so i've done extensive testing on all of my hardware. Memory test were fine after 3 passes. Hard Drive test is fine. Stress test CPU is fine,, Stress test GPU is fine. I can play any game, including Battlefield 3 maxed out, without any problems. The red screen only happens while i'm doing stuff on desktop. So far anyways.....

Just before this started happening i was getting the famous BSOD 116 while gaming (before i bought this new GTX 680 and Asus Rampage III Motherboard). This is usually a problem with theLink Removed - Invalid URL or PSU. So i bought a new Motherboard, and Graphics Card. Got the new motherboard since it was on sale and i wanted something that supported USB 3.0 and Sata 6. I had doubts about it being the power supply, since corsair usually makes good ****, and the PSU was only 7 months old. So I just ran with the new mobo and Graphics card to see if my problems would end.

Current Hardware Specs:

• Intel i7 920 D0 Stepping (no overclocks on anything while trying to debugg this problem)
  • Asus Rampage III Formula 1366 Motherboard (newest bios)
  • Asus GTX 680 DC2O Graphics Card (newest driver)
  • Corsair 6GB DDR3 Ram Tri-Channel CX1600C8XXXX