Computer is Crashing...Driver Cleanup For Windows 7?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Coach Bombay, Jun 18, 2009.

1. Coach Bombay

Coach Bombay New Member

I had a period of about two weeks with Windows 7 without any crashing, but I've been switching video drivers back and forth for the past couple of days trying to find which ones I want to use, and it's gotten to the point where my computer has been crashing at least twice a day, and its been in a game every time. I'm thinking it has to do with driver remnants hanging around on my comp, are there any driver cleanup programs for Windows 7 yet? Also, I want to know how to disable Windows 7 from automatically installing drivers for my graphics card... that could be the problem in itself.

The only other thing I think can think of that could be causing the crashing is that I was testing overclocked my computer around the same time I started playing around with the drivers... Cool and Quiet kept my CPU from barely ever using the overclocking though because my CPU is so fast and I have a really nice heat sink (thermaltake V1). I removed the overclocking after the first crash I experienced, and I've experienced like 8 since then so I'm doubting it's CPU related.

Thanks for any help!

2. TwinA

TwinA New Member

You can remove the drivers via the device manager. Open the device manager, open the hardware related, and click "remove drivers". I would NOT RECOMMEND you to use 3rd party applications for driver managing in Win7, as drivers are tricky as f*ck, and Win7 is still RC...

How to stop Win7 from installing drivers by itself:

Control Panel > System and Maintenance > System > Advanced system settings > Hardware tab > Windows Update Driver Settings button > adjust setting as desired.

3. Coach Bombay

Coach Bombay New Member

That file path doesn't exist in Windows 7. I have system/advanced system settings/hardware ...but there isn't any windows update driver settings there.

4. SIW2