Cracked Laptop Screen

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by Darth4212, Feb 5, 2016.

  1. Darth4212

    Darth4212 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Okay just recently I cracked my laptop screen, (don't ask me how because I have no idea one night I shut it down then closed it and woke up the next morning to find it cracked to all hell), thankfully I have a crap-ton of monitors laying around. Now I have a question i am currently dual booting and when my computer starts up it goes to Grub 2 immediately now this doesn't show up on the external monitor is there a way to make it do that. And just for reference it isn't only a certain monitor it is all of them.
     
  2. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,378
    Likes Received:
    360
    Grub will only show up on the monitor that it's given. Have you tried toggling the display with your Function key + one of the F# keys?
     
  3. Andrea Borman

    Andrea Borman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    7
    If the glass is cracked then it needs to be replaced. So you need to take your computer to a repair shop who will do this for you. Or it could be some other problem that needs fixing. I had the same problem 2 years ago when I got a red screen. It turned out my glass screen was damaged but the repair shop replaced it for me.
     
  4. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
  5. Darth4212

    Darth4212 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't currently have the money to replace the screen
    I tried and it didn't do anything!:);):):(
    Is the button that press look like one vertical line and then a rectangle and then another vertical line?
     
    #5 Darth4212, Feb 5, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2016
  6. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,378
    Likes Received:
    360
    Could be an icon that looks like a screen or mine says LCD
     
  7. Darth4212

    Darth4212 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Tried that still won't work
     
  8. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,378
    Likes Received:
    360
    Replacing the screen would be the best option. I would say it's a medium difficulty repair. Typically you will need a small Philips screw driver and a plastic pry bar. On most screens, if you have small rubber boots you need to remove those and there will be screws under them. Then with the pry bar you pry on the inside of the screen bezel gently to pop the plastic clips out and just work your way around. Th screens themselves will have small screws in a metal frame and one cable to disconnect. Lastly the wireless antenna may be taped on the screen so just remove them and tap them on the new screen.
     
  9. Darth4212

    Darth4212 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    as i stated earlier i dont have the money for the replacement
     
  10. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,378
    Likes Received:
    360
    If it wont toggle, I don't think you have any other options at this point.
     
  11. Darth4212

    Darth4212 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    The thing is it toggles when an operating system is loaded so what the heck?
     
  12. Darth4212

    Darth4212 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Maybe there is some software that would edit BIOS from within Windows?
     

Share This Page

Loading...