Disable hold to right click on the taskbar

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by JamesBobSmith, Mar 21, 2014.

  1. JamesBobSmith

    JamesBobSmith New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Basically what the title says. I often find when I go to click a program on the taskbar, if I hold it down too long and drag up it brings up the right click options, the first of which is close. So if I hold onto the mouse button for too long and drag up and let go on close it closes the program which is kind of annoying. Is there any way to disable this? There is an image of the problem or attached, or there is a link here: http://i.gyazo.com/1b8ec71db02e8a2f06642fe663231def.png

    I am using Windows 7 Home Premium with the Windows Classic theme

    Thanks for any help
     

    Attached Files:

  2. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Why are you dragging it up? If you want to open it, just click on it. Windows 7 Basic theme brings up a different behavior to this so you may want to try switching theme.
     
    #2 badrobot, Mar 21, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2014
  3. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    I would begin with a different mouse and see if the issue still persists.
    If that is not it, I would go to Control Panel > select Mouse. Look for option to test and adjust mouse Sensitivities.
     
  4. JamesBobSmith

    JamesBobSmith New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Since when I click on an icon I bring the mouse back up the screen to use the program and if I hold the mouse button down half a second too long it will bring up the options
     
  5. JamesBobSmith

    JamesBobSmith New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's not to do with the mouse, when I click a program and bring my mouse back up the screen, if I hold it down a few milliseconds too long until the point where my cursor is just above the taskbar and is hovering over the close button, then when I let go of the mouse button it registers the mouse button up event as being on the close button
     
  6. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    You may have the "ClickLock" feature enabled. Go to Control Panel >>> Mouse and see if it is ticked. If so, untick it or adjust the setting.

    mouse.
     
  7. JamesBobSmith

    JamesBobSmith New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the solution but unfortunately that's not enabled, is there any to simply disable the hold to right click feature of the taskbar?
     
  8. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    First, there is no such thing as "hold-to-right-click" feature on taskbar so I don't know where to find the solution for that. There is a right-click functionality which does the same thing as your problem. There is something wrong with the mouse. What brand and model of mouse are you using? Or there maybe some other USB devices plugged in to your computer that causes the mouse to act weird. I have that kind of problem sometimes with my logitech wireless mouse. Somehow there is some kind of interference with the signal between my mouse and the receiver that causes my mouse to do things by itself.
     
  9. JamesBobSmith

    JamesBobSmith New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    For me there is, holding down on an icon in the taskbar and dragging upwards brings up the same option menu as right clicking the program, I can't see why that would be a problem with my mouse
     
  10. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    What you are discribing is the all new taskbar item jump list menu and not exactly identical to a typical right click context menu but close enough for government work.
    You can disable the jump list feature easy enough from the taskbar properties, jump list tab.

     
    #10 Trouble, Mar 21, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2014
    JamesBobSmith and badrobot like this.
  11. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    There you go. I hope Trouble's solution fixed your problem. Cheers!
     
  12. JamesBobSmith

    JamesBobSmith New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thank you trouble that's what I was looking for, I appreciate the help
     
    badrobot likes this.
  13. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    You're welcome, if that actually provided you with a solution then that's a good thing. I was rather disappointed in the actual results but to each his own.
    I am forever amazed at how often various people seem to want to disable any number of things here and there within the operating system that to me, make it more robust and feature rich and just overall, handier to use.
    Many of these things are an integral part of the OS and do not lend themselves to much in the way of real customization. After all, Microsoft considers them features and not bugs or problems that need addressing.
     
    badrobot likes this.
  14. JamesBobSmith

    JamesBobSmith New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well it gave me something to work off since I knew the name but it seems there isn't a way to disable jump lists which is rather annoying. I can see the usefulness of it but for me it causes more trouble when I carelessly try and open a program and end up closing it instead. But yeah I've had similar problems with Google recently and a lot of their products they force things on you, such as using a Google account with YouTube etc. Although there is workarounds it can be frustrating
     
  15. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Since everything is going cloud these days, we don't have much choice but to suck it up. We just have to be smart. Personally, I have dummy email accounts on google and yahoo in case a website requires one. They're free anyway. I never give away my primary email accounts. :) Have you resolved your issue yet?
     

Share This Page

Loading...