Dual boot????

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by ruggb, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. ruggb

    ruggb Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    4
    I did a clean install of W7 on a completely separate drive with my XP system drives disconnected.
    Can I modify the boot.ini on my XP system to implement a dual boot???????
    What do I have to do on the W7 drive???

    thx
     
  2. unawave

    unawave New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    No. Windows XP uses "ntldr" and "boot.ini" as boot manager. Windows Vista and Windows 7 uses "bootmgr" and "\boot\bcd" as boot manager. So you need the new boot manager from Windows 7:

    Connect both drives
    Boot from Windows 7 installation DVD
    After language selection choose "repair" function (lower left menu)
    This should install the new boot manager from Windows 7
     
  3. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Not very helpful, maybe, but did you have a reason for needing to disconnect the XP installation?
    It is a very awkward way to carry out the procedure.
    As you have a clean installation of 7, I would suggest you reconnect the XP drive and install W7 again. It will , in the process, install a dual boot for you. You might have to reconfigure the boot.ini, maybe not, but this is easily done with a third party program such as Easybcd.
     
  4. ruggb

    ruggb Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    4
    thx
    fortunately my gigabyte MB has a function to select the drive to boot from (F12)
    I seems to work pretty well, but I will give the repair install a try.
     
  5. cygnus333

    cygnus333 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did the startup repair work for you? When I try I get the msg. 'Startup repair could not detect a problem.' Then when I reboot I go straight to XP.
     
  6. ruggb

    ruggb Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    4
    don't know much yet, but the "Repair" function booting from the install CD should not try to detect a problem - I wouldn't think. I have not tried it yet as I don't want to chance messing up my XP system and the F12 fctn of my Gigabyte works fine.
    One thing -- Once I was in W7 I thought that rebooting would bring me back to my XP system - NOT. I have to shut it down, do a cold boot, and go thru the F12 process again selecting the correct drive. It is remembering someplace which system it was on and goes back to that one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...