Fax and Scan only faxing to .Prn & NOT

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by LLM2, Aug 21, 2013.

  1. LLM2

    LLM2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My windows fax and scan will no longer fax-it wants a .prn file to print to file WHEN Fax and scan says my fax modem is installed and ready to send and receive faxes, this problem happened very suddenly and nothing in my event viewer that I can find. But. around same time though my DHCP cannot renew it's address either-I cannot find a bug. Please help with these 2 issues as I recently became POA for my mother who recently went into assisted living and I need to do A LOT of faxing. Thank you
     
  2. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    Roughly, a .prn is a print file, needed to be printed, not able to be faxed.

    Might be, you have a problem with the router. Can you generally get to Internet?
     
  3. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Not a lot to go on in your question.
    Is the device you are using truly a fax modem? Is it internal or external? Or is it a more currently typical AIO device from HP or Epson, etc.?
    The fact that you're currently having DHCP problems may be an indicator of a more pervasive problem but since there is no information regarding your network environment I'm just guessing? Are you using DSL provided by your local TelCo if so there may be a problem with their circuit (either physical or PVC) to or thru your device.
    Check all your connections, splitters, filters, etc.,
    Maybe explain how your network is set up, how many and what type of appliances are involved and who provided them. Does your phone have a dial tone, will it tip and ring? If so and if it is physically possible trying jacking that line straight into your modem.
     
  4. LLM2

    LLM2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    My fax and scan is set up using my external fax modem plugged into my usb port which is connected over my telephone line AND I am receiving a very large fax right now without any problem-it just wants to .prn (print to file) my outgoing faxes and that problem happened suddenly-I was faxing paperwork just fine a few days before and no settings were changed. The other problem got somehow fixed overnight and you are correct I am using cox as my ISP.
     
  5. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Have you checked you printers folder and confirmed that your Fax device is still showing as available as a choice and that the properties are not set to "Offline"?
     
  6. LLM2

    LLM2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I can fax from Microsoft Word (fax is in my printers options) but I cannot fax outbound directly from Window's Fax and Scan-it only wants to print to file...but it receives faxes...VERY STRANGE!
     

Share This Page

Loading...