Hard Drive Partition

Discussion in 'General Computing' started by ArchTech, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. ArchTech

    ArchTech New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm planning to partition my current Hard Drive, yet this could be the first time to partition my currently use HD(yet I did pration before but before I install OS, yet this is my second reformated drive cuz by OS conflicts & I forgot to make two partitions). Yet I just want to know if it's safe, I have Partition Magic 8 and more than half free space I have...yet I don't want yet to reformat and pration my HD cuz I don't have much time to backup it all more than 10GB files and there's no one day I don't use my PC..

    Please tell me if it's safe to partition my hard drive without corrupting files nor damaging OS....thanks! :)
     
  2. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    It is safe, however you can only partition unused space.
    And partition magic won't work in Vista
     
  3. Matt

    Matt Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    861
    Likes Received:
    8
    Well, i would recommend that you download the gParted live CD, and use that. I used it to resize my vista partition and create a partition to install XP on my laptop. It broke Vista, but I was able to use the DVD to fix the boot errors.
     
  4. ComputerGeek

    ComputerGeek Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Paragon Disk Manager works with Vista, haven't tried it with Win 7 yet. I used it to partition my 300gb HD in Vista and when I installed Win 7 on the second partition, it killed the MBR so I used PDM to restore the 3rd partition and everything works fine, no files lost

    Dual booting Vista & Win 7 with 200gb backup partition.
     
  5. Kylethedarkn

    Kylethedarkn Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    18
    It works the same way with Windows 7...I think we should start referring to Windows 7 as Se7en because its shorter. Just saying 7 wouldn't make sense in some places and Windows 7 is too long. XD

    Works with se7en but you have to repair the start up with the se7en install CD.
     
  6. SEAN-NZ

    SEAN-NZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    win 7 seems even shorter and easier to understand
     
  7. jimbo45

    jimbo45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    41
    W7 seems even shorted and easier --cheers jimbo:razz:
     

Share This Page

Loading...