Have you install HP Laserjet or Scanjet software on W7?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by chong67, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. chong67

    chong67 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have any of you all install HP Laserjet or Scanjet software on W7?
     
  2. pbcopter

    pbcopter Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yes, I am using a HP LaserJet Series II (quite old). I used the Windows Update selection during Add Printer to get the driver. BTW Windows update takes up to 10 minutes to return a new printer list so you must be patient.
     
  3. Danaw

    Danaw New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    scanjet on W7

    I am using an old scanjet 5300 with W7 but have to use it through VueScan to get it to work. This also give me access to the HP copy utility. VueScan works with both 32 & 64 bit W7

    DanaW
     
  4. chong67

    chong67 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    My HP Scanjet 2400 software will not work in W7 RTM. When I boot up the software, it crash.

    My HP Laserjet 1020 will print on the host computer after doing some hack. Now to make it shareable, I have to do a regedit. Otherwise it will just hang in the queue and it will never print. It work right after I install. But after I reboot, it will not work anymore.

    Here is the exercise I use: http://www.sevenforums.com/drivers/20537-installing-sharing-hp-laserjet-1020-win7-x64.html

    Now isnt that amazing?
     
  5. Danaw

    Danaw New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chong,

    Download VueScan from VueScan Scanning Software Install it as directed. It will install a driver that will work for your scanner. Then you can either use VueScan as your scanner program or reinstall HP precision scan and use that.

    As far as the Laserjet printer is concerned I have a LJ 4000 (more than 1o years old) and have no trouble under W7.

    Hope this helps,

    DanaW
     
  6. chong67

    chong67 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    I end up putting all my drives and HP software on another VMWare running XP.

    Tomorrow I am going back to Vista x64. I aint fooling with W7 for now.

    You can see my other threads about my W7 freezing and lagging.

    Its really weird.

    I am sad.
     

Share This Page

Loading...