Help Needed To Remove Agent Lockout Program

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Patriotpapa2010, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. Patriotpapa2010

    Patriotpapa2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My son purchased a used Compaq CQ69 Laptop from Aaron's Rental and after paying it out, a program appeared with information from Aaron's claiming to be locking out unless connected to internet to verify Network (connected but acted as if it wasn't) or to get lockout password from Aaron's. Aaron's denied putting software on computer claiming previous renter must have loaded it and refused to fix it. Reloaded to factory settings, but program continues to install and lockout desktop. any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    whats the name of the software on the pc? Are you able to login succesfully and have u tried booting in safe mode?
     
  3. Patriotpapa2010

    Patriotpapa2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see no actual name on software, but is blue screen w. Information: Agent Machine [locked] Offline Key [F4-5C5B0A-79B86] Version 5.6.5 Picture of Agent on left side. Says "Your computer has been deactivated because it was unable to contact network to verify status. Gives option to connect to internet for verification, doesn't work, then contact owner for password, which it names Aaron's, though Aaron's denies putting software on computer. Says computer must verify every 120 days.
     
  4. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    are u able to install ure own operating system ? like windows XP or windows 7? to be fair if he bought the pc from Aarons then there could be anything on the pc i.e virus's etc.
     
  5. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I suggest you take the computer back where you bought it. It sounds like Aaron's put some type of security on it to make it useless if stolen. I would also question the if the liscense is OEM to the machine or an Enterprise version that would not allow a reinstall.
    Joe
     
  6. kaos

    kaos Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    33
    yea but surely it doesnt matter wat is on the HDD if u boot up from a CD first with a installation disk then the HDD would never come into effect and boot this software up?
     
  7. Patriotpapa2010

    Patriotpapa2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, it didn't come with an installation disc because it was used. May end up purchasing one, but would like to eliminate program w/o going to the expense.
     
  8. Twinnii

    Twinnii Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your best bet especially if NO information is on the laptop is to completely wipe it out. They should have given you a restore disc or told you how to go about doing it especially if it's from Compaq. If you can boot into laptop there is usually a place in all programs where you can create a system restore disc that would wipe out everything on Hard drive including their security protection program.
    like someone stated above, press F8 key and see if it would allow you into the system.
    Another thing you can try is to download something like Ubuntu, free open source OS and download live CD and boot it up. If that message comes up again, then check your BIOS or setup, usually F2 key and look closely for something weird about password lock or something. If not, then there may be something physically added to laptop to prevent it from booting up.
     
  9. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    I'm suspicious that there might be something with the BIOS. You can download Windows 7 iso at Digital River, but with laptops you sometimes need extra drivers. I'd do some searching and see if there is a recovry partition on it.
    Joe
     
  10. d0ts1ash

    d0ts1ash New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can't bypass it.. it's a chip that's installed on your motherboard. Google PC Rental Agent... it also embeds somehow into devices so if you remove the chip the devices won't work. People have used a garage opener to bypass the chip but there's also an encrypted lock screen after that you need to enter the product key into..in other words it's useless, all of it..
     
  11. d0ts1ash

    d0ts1ash New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...