home network setup

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Boomer69, Feb 24, 2011.

  1. Boomer69

    Boomer69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running Win. 7 HP... I have wi-fi router set up from my modem to another desktop that is working properly. I am wired from router to my computer. My computer funtions properly but cannot connect to home network....
    What am I doing wrong, or what have I failed to do right... lol
     
  2. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    You can't use Home group on anything but Windows 7 computers for a start.
    Joe
     
  3. Boomer69

    Boomer69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    network set up

    I have a router wired from my modem to my computer...then wireless to another computer. Both computers have Win7 and can access the internet. To me, that means no bad connections or wireless problems...????
    Yet when I try to access home network, my computer cannot find my other computer.... I have never networked, so am a complete novice. What am I doing wrong, or failing to do?

    all helpful comments appreciated
    Boomer69
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Re: network set up

    Boomer69;
    Hello and welcome to the forums.
    First of all if you have chosen to join a "HomeGroup" leave it. Leave a homegroup
    Then make any adjustments to both computer's workgroup name to make sure they are the same. Join or create a workgroup
    Then open the Network and sharing Center and in the left column choose "Change advanced sharing settings" and under the "Home or Work" section turn on
    network discovery
    file and printer sharing
    public folder sharing
    password protected sharing
    Use user accounts and passwords to connect to other computers
    Then type
    services.msc into the search or run dialog box and hit enter
    scroll as need to determine the state of the following services.
    confirm that the following services are started, consider setting the startup type to automatic
    Computer Browser
    Function Discovery Provider Host
    Function Discovery Resource Publication
    Network Connections
    Network List Service
    Network Location Awareness
    Network Store Interface Service
    Server
    SSDP Discovery
    TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper
    Workstation
    Open a command prompt and type
    ipconfig and hit enter
    determine the IP address of the network adapter that each computer is using and then, again from a command prompt type
    ping 192.168.nnn.nnn (the actual IP address of the other machine) and hit enter you should get four replys and then
    again from a command prompt type
    ping MachineName (the actual computer name of the other machine) again you should get four replys.
    Keep us posted.
     
    #4 Trouble, Feb 24, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 24, 2011
  5. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Re: network set up

    Boomer69;
    Please refrain from double posting in the same forum or cross posting in multiple sub forums. I have merged both your threads here to help remedy any confusion. As you can see Joe S had already responded to one of your threads and I had responded to a completely different one unaware that you had created two. This results in complications and confusion.
    Your understanding and cooperation is appreciated.
    Regards
    Randy
     
  6. Boomer69

    Boomer69 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: network set up

    Thank you so much, it was the TCP/IP helper that wasn't started...
    It is a treat for me to be enabled by such knowledgeable folks here.
    thanks again
    Boomer69
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Re: network set up

    Glad to hear that you've apparently been able to resolve your issue. Thanks for the update and posting back to let us know. Hope to continue to see you around the forums.
     

Share This Page

Loading...