How to switch graphics card?

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Graphics' started by Fei Wu, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. Fei Wu

    Fei Wu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using an AlienwareM17 laptop with a built-in GPU as well as an external GPU (EVGA GTX 670) that i connected to. When i was using windows 7, i could switch by disabling the built-in GPU and it will automatically switch to the GTX 670 as the default GPU, but this didnt work on windows 8. Anyone know how i can switch graphics cards on windows 8?
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi,

    do you have the latest bios and drivers installed?
     
  3. Fei Wu

    Fei Wu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My drivers are up to date. But im having trouble finding update for alienware m17 r1 BIOS.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  5. Fei Wu

    Fei Wu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok i got the BIOS. When i run winphlash it just froze at "flashing new BIOS".

    And yes it recognizes the gpu and it says "this device is working properly" in the properties after update/rebooting etc.
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    So did the flash go ok? The flashing app usually freezes whilst the update is completed.
     
  7. Fei Wu

    Fei Wu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i left it there for 1 hour, nothing happened, and i had to force shut down. am i suppose to leave it there for longer?
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    What bios do you have now? Also I'm not sure it will help in this particular issue but it's always best to run the latest version.
     
  9. Fei Wu

    Fei Wu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried install it again and left the laptop on for 9 hours and it was still stuck on "flashing new BIOS."

    My BIOS version is W841.B10. I've never updated it since i bought the laptop almost 4 years ago.
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  11. Fei Wu

    Fei Wu New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    not really. do i have to burn the file onto a disk? can i just use a program and create a disk image?
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    On the download page (Dells) there are two options, zip file or exe, you want the exe. Otherwise your gonna need a floppy and they can be rare beasts nowadays.. I also notice that the exe is for xp and below only. You could try right clicking the exe and run in compatibility mode but to be honest after checking what this bios update actually does I don't think it's going to help your issue. If you would still rather update the bios then that's your choice but for me personally there's starting to be a number of variables which may have a negative impact. it could be the case that it's simply not worth it. Especially when a simple refresh might do just as well?
     

Share This Page

Loading...