Installing both 32 and 64 bit

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by NightFenix, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. NightFenix

    NightFenix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd like to play with both versions, is there a way I can partition my hard drive and install both systems on each partition and run them? Thanks.
     
  2. RandysSOHC

    RandysSOHC New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol....?
    how much ram do you have?

    you that the 32bit & 64bit versions are the exact same thing?
    only difference is the the 64bit version supports more ram...

    no use...
     
  3. NightFenix

    NightFenix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was under the impression that 64 bit operating systems are also able to process things faster, based on what I had read. Or do they only process things faster because they can support more ram?
     
  4. Moosetek13

    Moosetek13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    5
    In answer to the original question - yes, you can.

    I have a 160GB drive set aside for Windows 7. I installed 64-bit first, creating the partition and formatting half the drive during setup. After I had that up and running I installed 32-bit with the remainder of the drive.

    Piece of cake.
     
  5. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108

    That's not entirely true.. there's more benefits to using a 64 bit OS than just being able to use more ram.. for one thing, the programs that benefit from a 64 bit OS work much faster and overall more effeciently... if you google the pros and cons you'll see that there is more to a 64 bit OS than just being able to use more ram.. ;)
     
  6. Kyle

    Kyle New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,634
    Likes Received:
    53
    Okay, here's how you do it;
    Install one of them.
    Run it.
    Start menu > right click my computer > manage > Storage > Disk Management > right click that partition and click shrink volume.
    Try to give both partitions equal size

    OR

    If you're formatting because you've backed all your data up, just delete all partitions on your drive from the Windows 7 disk, then create two equally sized partitions, and install to one, then the other.
     
  7. NightFenix

    NightFenix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I've partitioned before, I just didn't know if I could install a copy to each of them and boot with it. Do you recommend the partitions be equal size for a reason? I'm probably going to be using the 32 bit version more so I was going to allocate more space to that partition.
     
  8. Moosetek13

    Moosetek13 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    5
    I am curious why you would be using the 32-bit version more.

    So far I have found nothing (aside from no 64-bit support for Flash with 64-bit IE8) that could not run just fine with W764.
    (granted, I am still in my early test phase)

    Since we are testing beta versions, wouldn't it be more prudent to allocate more space to the best OS that your CPU supports - rather than to the older 32-bit version that is going out the 'window'?
     
  9. orlbuckeye

    orlbuckeye New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    1
    Question about 64 bit versus 32

    64 bit applications will run faster in a 64 bit environment but most applications today are still 32 bit and they may running slower in a 64 bit environment.
     
  10. NightFenix

    NightFenix New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, considering my processor's L2 cache is only 1MB, I'd imagine that's the reason why the 64 bit doesn't run as well. So yeah the 64 bit would be faster, but with only a processor cache of 1mb and just 2GB of RAM, it's not going to run as fast as the 32 bit. But I still have both versions installed, and I can still save items to both partitions of my hard drive.
     
  11. Thomas

    Thomas New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    7
    43 bit vers 64 bit

    My bet is that 32 bit will run faster then 64 bit ! 64 bit runs slower for me. has anyone else tried both vers. ? I think 64 bit needs some work on it. :confused:

    Thomas:cool:
     

Share This Page

Loading...