Intel RST needed or not?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by JureS, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. JureS

    JureS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    I have a WD Caviar Black 1TB and a Seagate Baracuda 320 GB HDDs in AHCI mode and I was wondering, is the installation of Intel RST in fact needed and if so, why?

    Thank you,

    J
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You might give some more information about your system, what motherboard other such details.
     
  3. JureS

    JureS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    My other specs: Gigabyte P55A UD4, Radeon HD 6870 and a Core i7 870.

    Jure
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It looks like your motherboard has a driver download for the Intel Rapid Storage Technology, so you can use it, as I do.

    Why install would be to improve performance. But it might depend on what bios version you have on the board. Don't expect it to raise the Windows Experience Index, you need an SSD to do that.

    I do not use the Smart Response Technology, however.

    It is my practice to try to get driver updates from the Manufacturer instead of allowing Windows 7 to install its drivers.
     
  5. JureS

    JureS New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for a quick response Saltgrass, will try installing it.

    Regards, Jure
     

Share This Page

Loading...