Internet works in Win7 but not in Win8

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Networking' started by r3n1sh, Nov 17, 2012.

  1. r3n1sh

    r3n1sh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Folks,

    I recently upgraded my system from Win7 Pro to Win8 and somehow my internet broadband connection stopped working after the upgrade.

    I have checked my internet connection (works), Ethernet cable (works - tested using laptop).

    Am not sure if it is of any help but the lights where the lan cable is connected to the modem gives a long blink every 3 seconds.

    Also tried installing the drivers in compatibility win7 mode.:upset:

    Can anyone suggest how to fix this?

    Name of the MB: GA-G31-MES2L (rev 1.x) - F10

    Name: Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Device ID: PCI\VEN_10EC&DEV_8168&SUBSYS_E0001458&REV_02\4&15E70C52&0&00E1
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\DRIVERS\Rt64win7.sys, 7.49.0927.2011 (English), 9/29/2011 09:30:34, 646248 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\RtNicProp64.dll, 1.02.0000.0003 (English), 9/29/2011 09:30:34, 74272 bytes
    Driver: C:\WINDOWS\system32\RTNUninst64.dll, 1.00.0000.0005 (English), 9/29/2011 09:30:34, 107552 bytes

    Thanks
    Renish
     
    #1 r3n1sh, Nov 17, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 17, 2012
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Hi Renish,

    I think I found a Windows 8 equivalent here:

    realtek.

    Here's the link:
    Realtek
     
  3. r3n1sh

    r3n1sh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you but this did not help either :(. I am in talks with the Microsoft tech team but they cant figure it out either. According to them it is out of scope for them.

    The same set of hardware works fine on Win7 and when doing a Windows 8 upgrade assistant it even shows it as compatible o_0
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    What about router firmware? Could be worth a look...
     
  5. r3n1sh

    r3n1sh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am on the latest firmware for my Router :/ I dont see anymore updates for the model - WA3002G4 made by UTStarcom

     
  6. r3n1sh

    r3n1sh New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    MS is willing to refund cos they couldnt fix my issue but I am thinking should i just pick up another cheap lan card and try it out if it works cos i picked it up at the offer and dont think there would be another one. Suggestions?
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    That would be one way round it. I also notice you have a spare PCIEx1 slot although as to which lan card would be best I'm unsure without further investigation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...