Windows 7 Lag on some games, not online

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by belveder, Aug 14, 2009.

  1. belveder

    belveder Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried a few versions of Windows 7 from 7100 to the current one and I love it as an OS but I am having lag problems with gaming, single player only. It's not on all games but ones that I play a lot of - Civilization 3, EA Sports Cricket 2007 and one or two others, they all are a couple years old lol and run perfect except for the lag.

    I am using all the latest drivers, obviously the viseo card drivers have had a couple revisions and each has been the same. I have tried compatibility mode & running as administrator etc

    Have tried it with no antivus installed and with, no difference either way

    Any help would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hi belveder,
    your problem may be down to the settings on your graphics set up.. Which card are you using with which driver?
    Also make sure that All your drivers are up to date. That includes sound, graphics and motherboard/chipset.
     
  3. belveder

    belveder Honorable Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply, my card is a gtx 285, like I said all drivers are up to date
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,829
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Thanks for the info...

    If you don't mind a bit of reading then this guide can be of a great help: TweakGuides.com - Nvidia Forceware Tweak Guide
    I think it's up to the latest driver set and it also gives links to certain other guides which again are very helpful..

    Failing the above... You could always check to see if the game/s your having problems with has a forum. Thats what I do and it usually works out right...
     
  5. LastKnownOne

    LastKnownOne New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Civilization IV lags on my Win7 Pro 64x version every time I start it. I found out that for some reason it starts itself with a below normal priority. I just go into the task manager and change the priority to normal or sometimes above normal. I can't detect any difference.
     
  6. Azraeel

    Azraeel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im having the same problem. I get lag in the games i have so far installed - Batman arkham and prototype.

    I have a geforce 275 gts and all my driver are also up to date.
     
  7. Azraeel

    Azraeel New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tweaked the settings in prototype and thats much better now, can find any video settings in Batman tho.

    Downloaded the left 4 dead 2 demo and that runs perfectly. Weird
     
  8. Highwayman

    Highwayman Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,977
    Likes Received:
    112
    I had lagging issues on Borderlands on LAN of all things...till i checked my BIOS and realised that having the PCI latency rate set to fastest (32) caused my SBlaster card lag audio and jitter the gameplay, now its on 96 I think, and games are once again silky smooth.

    FYI I wiped BIOS settings a month ago by stupid mistake and thought that was the correct setting, typically everything else was as I remembered.
     
  9. rired48

    rired48 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the lag I get in COD-WaW and -MW2 happens only 1 day out of 5-6, then it's unlikely that it's audio lag?
     
  10. Timelog

    Timelog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you have defragging set on automatic, or does your virus scanner automaticly scan for virusses ones a week? could be because of that..

    i also have some strange mouse lag with prototype, sometimes I have to shake with my mouse quite hard to get it turning propely in game again, someone knows how that's possible?
     
  11. rired48

    rired48 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, all of that is shut off. I turn off quite a few of the Win7 services as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...