LogonUI.exe

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by up2nogooduk, May 15, 2013.

  1. up2nogooduk

    up2nogooduk New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I started my pc today, and a messages come up saying,
    LogonUI.exe - entry point not found.
    The procedure entry point checkelevationAnabled could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNEL32.dll.
    I tried safemode but won't start.
    Any idea's on what i can do? never seen this message before
    Cheers :)
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    My first thought, of course, would be a virus problem. When I was looking for that error message, I found things like win32.zbot and win32.Agent.pz mentioned... You can check on those yourself, but I did see part of the description in the link relating to making your system unbootable.

    Featured Articles

    If this happens to be the case, you will probably need some type of bootable anti-virus. I am not that familiar with what is available, but I do know there is something called Windows Defender Offline that can be put on a flash drive for booting.

    The first link is a FAQ about it and the second is the download location.

    Windows Defender Offline: frequently asked questions
    Microsoft?s Free Security Tools ? Windows Defender Offline - Microsoft Security Blog - Site Home - TechNet Blogs

    Beyond that, I would try running a System File Check from Offline as explained in the link. After that, perhaps trying a Startup Repair might help.

    How to Run the System File Checker (Sfc.exe) Offline in Windows 7 and Vista - The Winhelponline Blog
     
  3. up2nogooduk

    up2nogooduk New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried all the above.. nothing worked.. :( kept crashing..
    Thanks away :)
     
  4. up2nogooduk

    up2nogooduk New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I sorted it..

    All I did was set my motherboard clock to default :)
    And it started up? I run @ 4.4 but never had a problem for the 2 weeks it's been clock out.
    any idea why this happened?

    Thanks :)

    report

    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 2057
    Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 4e
    BCP1: 0000000000000007
    BCP2: 00000000003929E0
    BCP3: 0040000000000000
    BCP4: 0000000000000000
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 256_1
     
    #4 up2nogooduk, May 16, 2013
    Last edited: May 16, 2013

Share This Page

Loading...