My computer is rather fond of the blue screen of death

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Hopptramp, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. Hopptramp

    Hopptramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I shall do so in about 5 minutes. I'm downloading the NVIDIA Driver, and the BIOs update requires rebooting after is is done, so I'm finishing the download first.
     
  2. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Cool, May I suggest you do the 2T first before trying to flash the bios, as a bsod while flashing would be disastrous.
     
  3. Hopptramp

    Hopptramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    you mean change rthe settings before updating it? I unfortunately don't know currently how to change the settings. The bioscreen doesn't give me much option really bioscreen.PNG
     
  4. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Ok, just update the bios, when it's done and your machine reboots press delete or whatever key it is to get into your bios and find the memory timings and then set The Command Rate to 2T. I'll get the manual for your mobo and I'll then post how to change that setting.
     
  5. Hopptramp

    Hopptramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I honestly can't find a way to change my command rate.. I've been treking through the internet and I have had no result. There is no 1t/2t option. Or command Rate option.

    I'll write down my options under DRAM Timing Configuration

    Memory CLK : :DDR3-1333
    CAS Latency Tcl :9CLK
    RAS/CAS delay (Trcd) :9CLK
    Row Precharge Time (Trp) :9CLK
    Min Active RAS (tras) :24CLK
    RAS/RAS Delay (Trrd) :4CLK
    Row Cycle (Trc) :33CLK
    Write Recover Time :10CLK

    So lost, Why do computers always hate me?
     
  6. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Hmmm that's strange as the manual recons there should be a 2T option which can be auto\1T\2T. What does it say if you set the DRAM Timing mode to Manual?
     
  7. Hopptramp

    Hopptramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dram timing mode -Auto/DCT 0/DCT 1/Both

    (there's no manual option, but they both give the same set of options)

    CAS Latency
    TRCD
    TRP
    tRTP
    TRAS
    TRC
    tWR
    TRRD
    tWTR
    tRFCO
    tRFC1
    tRFC2
    tRFC3

    Most with options like 4CLK or other numbers with CLK.. no 1's or 2's. and some with options saying 90ms, 110ms, 160ms, 300ms, 350ms
     
  8. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Did you update the bios?
     
  9. Hopptramp

    Hopptramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I did, It seemed to install, but nothing stood out to be different. I'll get a image of the update screen uploaded
     
  10. Hopptramp

    Hopptramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I click the update bios button. and it tells me to choose a file.. and with the files it only accepts ROM files. and the only ROM file I could find was in program files>biostar>bioscreen and was called Temp.ROM

    I used that file, and it rewrote the flash etc on the loading screen.. then rebooted the computer. So I assume it's updated bios update 2.PNG bios update rom.PNG Bios Update.PNG
     
  11. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    I agree does look like it flashed the bios, bit puzzled why there isn't a Command rate setting though. The manual says there is, but your pictures which I trust say there isn't :rolleyes:
     
  12. Hopptramp

    Hopptramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    so is the issue with the computer that the drivers aren't compatible with windows 7... or something else related to having windows 7 as an operating system? Because my Windows 7 is only a trial that came with the computer (in German). And if it's the problem then I'll just swap over for a different operating system such as xp or vista. Gonna have to eventuially
     
  13. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    To me it looks like a memory timing issue. Not having a command rate setting in the bios means we cant set 2T. In the bios can you go into power configuration and set acpi to version 2. In the memory config can you set mem clock mode to manual and then set Mem Clock value to 1333. See if that unlock the Cmmand rate setting.
     
  14. Hopptramp

    Hopptramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've made those changes, but I don't appear to have the option still. Could command rates have a different name at all?
     
  15. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Not normally from the screenshot of the bios, the option just isn't there. So puzzled I've emailed biostar about it ad waiting on them to get back to me. In the meantime I'm searching google for you.
     
  16. Hopptramp

    Hopptramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can completely understand your confusion.. I mean I've been looking at google, found a manual from my bios, and it says there should be a 1t/2t option, and the internet has the same opinion.

    Current'y windows is offering me a update for "Windows Games" to improve stability, and hopefully that will download and help my computer a bit
     
  17. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    If you want to confirm the Bios has updated, open CPU-Z and under the Mainboard tab is a bios box with the version number.

    Your old version was 080015
     
    #37 Elmer, Jul 19, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2011
  18. Hopptramp

    Hopptramp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joy, It's not updated. And google is not being the best at explaining how exactly you go about flashing it
     
  19. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    I'll check your mobo manual, see if theres a way a flashing from a usb drive or something. I'm enjoying helping you, I am however hating your motherboard ;)
     
  20. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Found the bios it's BIOSTAR :: N68S3B :: BIOS Get the .BSS file and then use the flasher to flash that. Not happy with biostar support, took an age to get back to me and when they did were utterly useless. Flash that bios and see if you get the CR option in the bios. If not I have an idea how to change it, but it's not the simplest or most elegant of ideas.
     
    #40 nmsuk, Jul 20, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...