mystery surrounding dump file creation

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by srinpraveen, Jul 22, 2011.

  1. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    By all means use a driver updater utility. BUT! Don't let it update your drivers. Very often there data bases are out of date. Use it to tell you then go look yourself (google is your friend!!).

    Just remember Realtek and graphics related do a monthly update. Chipsets drivers not so often. Intel has a Driver update facility. AMD, not sure as I'm Intel!! If you could fill in your User Specs in your profile (click Settings at top of general screen of The Forum and then Edit profile in left hand column) I can give you some links to bookmark.
     
  2. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
  3. srinpraveen

    srinpraveen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Elmer,
    As you mentioned my Laptop settings in my user profile. Its not complete because I don't know how to get some parameters of my laptop. I used CPU-Z to find my laptop internal details and fill up my user profile. I have attached CPU-Z reports as well. Also I have attached the updated driver list. Pls have a look at it and if possible, mention the outdated drivers because I am kind of having a tough time determining whether or not my drivers are up to date. Most of the driver update softwares appear inaccurate and fake. That's the problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Hi,

    When looking at your spec's and noticed your 50c at Idle and 68c during load. This is a little on the high side. AMD recommend 50C full load 100% both cores. Can you check to see if any of the cooling vent's are blocked. Could you get wprime . Run the 1024M test and monitor your temps post them back here please can see if your overheatiing.
     
  5. srinpraveen

    srinpraveen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as I can see, there is no dust blockage on the vents. And yes, I will run the application you suggested and send back the reports.
     
  6. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Just for info. I once tried MagicISO on my 64bit system. Immediately gave me two BSOD's that I hadn't intentionally provoked. If you are after a virtual drive I'd personally suggest:
    DVDFab. Very small at just over 1Mb installed and can emulate up to 18 drives.(My preference).
    PowerISO (The program is a trial but the drive emulation is free forever).
    Virtual CloneDrive

    • Download and install Driver Sweeper.
    • Uninstall your current Graphics setup through Programs and Features
    • Boot to Safe Mode
    • Run Driver Sweeper to clean up the remnants of your current Graphics set up.
    • Reboot to Normal Mode.
    • Install your new Graphics set up.


    Links to your Realtek drivers. These get updated virtually every month.

    Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller v7.046

    Realtek HD Audio R2.63

    Trying to edit this post and it's coming out wrong. will try later! (DOH! Missed an " ] " out!!)
     
    #26 Elmer, Jul 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  7. srinpraveen

    srinpraveen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    @nmsuk, I tried running wprime.exe but it was just saying that it was "processing" and it went on and on and did not come up with anything. Maybe should I give it another try? Does it a long time for the results to pop out from wprime?
    @Elmar,
    Are these the only stuff that are appearing outdated Any other stuff a bit outdated? And yes I will follow all your steps and let you know. So drive sweeper is used for a clean uninstall of drivers right if my inference is correct?
     
  8. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    When it does that press the shift key. Sorry should have mentioned that. Give it ago and monitor your temps. The 1024M test should take a few minutes.
     
  9. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Yes, everything else looking good.
    For your graphics drivers, yes. If you open DriverSweeper you'll see a list of items it can remove. Note that not all these items will be present on your system.
     
  10. srinpraveen

    srinpraveen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi nmsuk, thanks for giving gprime.exe...Atleast it helped me to figure out that my core is heating up too much. I followed your instructions. I pressed shift. Then the app started executing a bunch of threads. And I started monitoring my cpu and other temperatures through CPUID hD monitor. Initially the steady state temperature of the core was 55 degree celcius (131 degree Farenheit) and in the midst of gprime run, the temperature rose up to 95 degrees (203 degree farenheit). And Whoa!! I have never seen my core temperature so hot before. All the other temperatures were also pretty high. So does this point to something?
     
  11. srinpraveen

    srinpraveen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Elmer, I will report back after updating all drivers and uninstalling the old graphics driver through driversweeper. ( i understood from your statements that driversweeper is used for uninstalling the graphic driver in specific. )
     
  12. srinpraveen

    srinpraveen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here are the screenshots that I took while I ran wprime. The core was absolutely flaming hot. And when the temperature got to around 99 degrees celcius, the screen froze and I got the usual bsod with the error code 0X00000F4. I have enclosed that screenshot as well. And followed by that, I got the operating system not found error on the black screen as always. Then that gets rectified once I power off and on a couple of times. That's the story so far.

    And yes I forgot to add something. The gprime took quite a lot of time to complete. It was not quick by any means.
     

    Attached Files:

    #32 srinpraveen, Jul 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  13. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Wprime is definately not quick, did confirm a cooling problem though. If your comfortable with taking the laptop apart you could check to see if the fans ok. If your not or it's still under warranty take in to be serviced.
     
  14. srinpraveen

    srinpraveen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I need to get back and check if the warranty still holds good. I bought the laptop last year august end. And I think I need to buy the extended warranty from sony vaio. Well I am not too good with dismantling and examining stuff and so I would prefer getting it done by someone professional.

    So the temps are high right or is it normal for amd cores to go this high if put under stress?
     
  15. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Well my quad core on a desktop never goes over 60c sits at the desktop at between 37-45c that's for a 125W cpu compared to your 25W cpu.
     
    #35 nmsuk, Jul 23, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  16. srinpraveen

    srinpraveen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    @Elmer...I forgot to mention sth...I have uninstalled magiciso and magicdisc from my laptop as per your advice. :redface:
     
  17. srinpraveen

    srinpraveen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow awesome...Looks like my laptop needs a service..:(
     

Share This Page

Loading...