deertroy1

I am a novice so please bear with me. I have a desktop running XP and a laptop running windows 7. I have them connected to the internet through a dlink router. I had them networked by reading how to's on the web. Everything worked as it should. Due to an unrelated problem I had to restore my XP computer (Acronis) to a point before I networked them. I therefore had to do the whole process again and I cannot get either computer to see one and other. As a last ditch resort I did a clean install of Windows 7 but still no luck. I have the windows firewall disabled on both machines. Anti virus disabled. The computer names are different and the workgroup names are the same. I have file shareing enabled on both machines and permissions set to everyone on the windows 7 machine. I deleted all my networks off of the windows 7 machine and tried to copy my wireless settings from the windows 7 laptop to a usb drive. When I due it tells me to inset a usb drive and hit next but when I insert the usb drive next remains greyed out. I tried a different usb drive but no luck. I originally was able to set this up in a coupe of evening but this time I have been trying different things for over a week and still no go. Any suggestions?

Solution
deertroy1:
Hello and welcome to the Windows 7 Forums.
First use the ipconfig utility from a command prompt. Click the Start Orb, All Programs, Accessories, right click Command Prompt and Choose "Run as Administrator" (the runas Admin is not something you need at this point, I just want to make sure you know how to do it for later)then at the blinking cursor type ipconfig /all make a note of the ip information regarding the particular adapter you are using on both machine (ip address will probably be private reserved something like 192.168.nnn.nnn) also make note of the machine name (listed at the top = Host Name) then from each machine check to see if you can ping the other by ip address and by hostname) let us know the results.