Phantom local drive

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by donaldadkins, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. donaldadkins

    donaldadkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    I've been fighting this one for some time and still haven't figured out what caused it or how to fix it. I have a P205 s-6287 Tosiba laptop, 4gb ram, windows 7 home premium 64-bit OS.

    Under the Computer icon I have a phantom local drive (Q) showing up. If I click on it "it is not accessible", "access denied". I can't find it in Device Manager or Computer Management. I did find it in registry and deleted the key, but after a reboot it returns.

    The only thing I can think of that I did different was I tried to access my card reader through a usb port with an adapter, but that didn't work. I then accessed the built in reader and it worked fine. Maybe I removed it without clicking on the safe to remove icon -- can't remember.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks,
    Don
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Turn it off and pull the USB cable out,. Try another port,. then turn the drive back on.
     
  3. donaldadkins

    donaldadkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Phantom Drive

    Thanks, I tried your suggestion, no luck. It really isn't hurting anything, but I sure would like to fix it.

    Thanks again for your suggestion.

    Don
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Win 7 is set by default to hide empty drives in the folders view options, maybe that is why you cannot see it.

    In Device Manger, try showing hidden devices in the View menu.

    Do you have any programs that might be adding virtual drives? What key in the registry did you remove to get rid of it? Is there anything in msconfig.exe startup tab to correspond to that key?
     
  5. donaldadkins

    donaldadkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Answers

    Here are the answers:
    Registry: HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE, SYSTEM, Mounted Devices, DOSDevices\Q

    Nothing that I can see in the Startup tab that could be causing the problem.
    Intel(R) Common User Interface X 3, MSE and Realtek HD Audio Manager

    I use Paragon to take mirror images for backups.

    Hope this helps...
    Don
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It is probably the Paragon software. Different utilities have different ways of watching your system.
     
    reghakr and (deleted member) like this.
  7. donaldadkins

    donaldadkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Makes sense

    I'll uninstall znd reinstall Paragon and let you know what happens.

    Thanks,
    Don
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180

    Exactly,. thats the problem
     
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I don't think he really has a problem. I know Acronis installs some pretty heavy devices in the Device Manager, so I bet Paragon is just doing its normal thing.
     
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    II.m suree you hears this before that I like GParted.

    If you say for instance,. you have a 500A GB drive,. how much can you shrinkl that main paririon down to in Windows?
     
  11. stxh

    stxh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you installed Microsoft office starter 2010, maybe it is the real reason.
     
  12. donaldadkins

    donaldadkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for your reply. I did install the beta version of Microsoft office home and business. You think that might be the problem...

    I'll uninstall and see if it goes away. I thought it might be the Paragon software so I uninstalled it, but that didn't fix it.

    Thanks,
    Don
     
  13. donaldadkins

    donaldadkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Still no luck

    I uninstalled paragon and microsoft office home and business. The phantom drive still lives. Just can't kill that thing, it's got nine lives....

    Thanks for your help, I'll eventually figure it out just thought someone might have had the same problem.

    Don
     
  14. stxh

    stxh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not microsoft office home but office starter 2010. I have the local driver Q too, and after I start the office starter, I can open files in driver Q by office starter. And the program run from Q too (You can check it from taskmgr)
     
  15. donaldadkins

    donaldadkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, I knew you meant the starter version but I don't have that app, so I thought there might have been a chance that the beta version of office might be doing the same thing.

    Thanks for your input,
    Don
     
  16. donaldadkins

    donaldadkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Phantom Drive Possibly Resolved

    I found this comment on another site:

    "Found the answer. The Culprit is the Office 2010 Beta (specifically, Softgrid):

    Mysterious local disk Q: | The Coffeehouse | Channel 9

    What's weird is that I just installed it on a second computer as well, and I don't see the drive there. Guess that's why it's still in Beta!"

    When I uninstalled this app, my Q drive was still there but I hadn't cleaned up registry before.

    Thanks everyone,
    Don
     
  17. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Hello Don, glad you got it figured out.

    BTW, how much disk space does that behemoth Office 2010 Beta take up
     
  18. donaldadkins

    donaldadkins Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Specs for MS Office Home and Office 2010 Beta

    Microsoft Office 2010 System Requirements & Compatibility
    [​IMG]
    Are there special system requirements for running Office 2010?

    Preliminary system requirements for Office 2010 include the following:
    • Windows XP SP3, Windows Vista or Windows 7
    • You don't need to replace hardware that is capable of running Office 2007; it will support Office 2010.
    • Processor: 500 MHz or higher
    • Memory: 256 MB or higher
    • Hard Disk: 1.5 GB; a portion of the disk space will be freed after installation if the original download package is removed from the hard drive.
    Hope this helps, I love the app. They have really upgraded.

    Don
     
  19. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    As normal, their specifications are bullshit.

    256 MB of RAM................Come on, get real
     
  20. knookie

    knookie Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...