PLS HELP: how do I get back to my previous factory version of windows 7?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Karnov, Sep 30, 2010.

  1. Karnov

    Karnov New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Big problem pls help:

    I got this new computer with windows 7 home on it as the factory default windows version. I did not like it so wanted to go back to what I was used to which was XP so I put in the disc and went through the procedure to put it back on but it seems rather than go over the factory windows 7 home, I think it actually installed next to it and not over it and is still not the main Operating System. I did something wrong obviously but now I need to get back to the original factory windows 7 but don't know how.

    Pls someone help. What have I done wrong? thx.
     
  2. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Hello, welcome to the Windows 7 Forums :)

    You can check your manufacturers site to see if they have a program that allows you to recover your original OS from a hidden partition, or you can contact them to purchase factory reset discs - which generally cost around $35.

    Buying Windows 7 from a retailer would be your best bet as OEM copies are often time bloated with un-needed programs etc, which make the system slower.
     
  3. Karnov

    Karnov New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    You mentioned particians here. I know when I installed my windows xp there was another partician which obviously had the current windows 7 on as it was a lot of memory. If I could get back to that screen again of selecting particians, could I somehow open the factory setting windows 7 from there? thx.
     
  4. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    The partition would be hidden - thus the need for the manufacturer program.

    For Acer, Gateway, eMachines it's called ___ Recovery Managment.

    What make and model is your PC? I'll gladly assist you to see if such option is available. :)
     
  5. Karnov

    Karnov New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh thx ummm...my model is Compaq and its model number is CQ5310UK.
     
  6. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    OK.. Checked the Compaq/HP website and it looks as if there are no recovery tools which means you would have to call them to purchase a recovery suite.. As mentioned earlier they are fairly cheap now a days.

    Customer Service / Contact HP
    Use that site
     
  7. Karnov

    Karnov New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    K gottit. Thx for your help,.
     
  8. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    No problem :)

    Don't hesitate to post again if you need more help.
     

Share This Page

Loading...