programs in start appear with ms word icons

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by MarcoKaiser, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. MarcoKaiser

    MarcoKaiser New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello,

    the problem occurred due adding a library. When clicking the start button, all icons appear as a ms word icon. All programs do the same. All programs open in word. I did a system restore without success. I am the only user of that computer.
    I opening Firefox true going to standard programs and open it from there. I hope I do not have to reinstall W7? A screen shot is attached.

    Thanks a lot for you help in advance.

    Marco
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    Hmm... Try running the system file checker: Rightclick on cmd prompt and click 'run as administrator'. Then type:

    sfc /scannow

    Then press enter. The file checker will now cycle through hopefully fixing anything it finds amiss..
     
  3. MarcoKaiser

    MarcoKaiser New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot...but it was not a success. Further ideas?
     
  4. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,834
    Likes Received:
    1,566
    nmsuk beat me to it.... :)
     
  6. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,708
    Likes Received:
    195
    Sorry mate ;)
     
  7. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    @ Marco Kaiser,

    Did you upgrade to 7 or did you clean install it?

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    I suggest you go to Control Panel > User Accounts > create another administrator account > log out of your current user account > log in to the new account. See if programs appear and start properly under the new account.


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Also try Program Defaults > set Microsoft scheme

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

    sfc /scannow

    It quite often helps.

    This command will immediately initiate the Windows File Protection service to scan all protected files and verify their integrity, replacing any files with which it finds a problem. You need to have your 7 installation DVD in the drive.
     
  8. MarcoKaiser

    MarcoKaiser New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    :D Great job!!! Everything is fine. I added an user account and everything looks fine. Can I delete the other account easily or do I have to ask that somewhere else?

    Very Happy best regards
     

Share This Page

Loading...