Windows 7 Protection from Malware/Virus?

jensjo001

Hey guys!
I am a non tech guy. So please pardon me if my question looks silly. I am currently using a windows 7 laptop. It’s a 3 year old system. Last week it got infected by some virus and malwares and I had to reinstall the OS. A few data including some photos, docs, music and game files were also lost. I have read in this cyber security blog about protection from virus and malware. I had AVG Free installed along with Malwarebytes free, but still my system was infected.

How can I give more protection to system so that It won’t be affected by malware or virus? Do you think windows defender will do a better job than AVG free? Please try to give an answer as soon as possible.

Laptop Details:
Asus
Intel Core i3
4GB Ram
1 GB Nvidia Graphics Card

If anymore details are required, please let me know.

Also, I heard that virus or malware won’t affect linux OS. Is it true?

Honestly I'd say you get what you paid for and since it's free, it doesn't include the best level of protection. I would suggest going with a paid antivirus/malware product such as Webroot, Bit Defender, Kaspersky etc. I think it's important to note that malware authors are always finding ways to evade detection from security software so even having protection in place may not guarantee you won't get infected. It's also import to be a safe internet user. I'd suggest reading this https://blog.kaspersky.com/seven-useful-habits-for-a-safer-internet/3717/.

As for your question about Linux. No it is not immune to viruses, but it is attacked far less than Windows primarily due to the fact that not a lot of people use it. One of the main motivations for malware authors is to make a profit and Windows has a much larger market share of the computer space. Larger market share = larger profit.

Hi,