Random Blue Screens. (Really bugging me now)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Rob887, Dec 10, 2013.

  1. Rob887

    Rob887 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you for all your help.

    As far as I can remember it hasn't always done it. (but this is first time I've stress tested it)

    I would prefer to buy another processor to try in it before I reformat the computer. Could you suggest a cheap processor that will fit in this computer that we know are fairy stable just to test.

    (i've not tried a stress test in safe mode, I might try that now)

    Thanks again
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    So is the cpu running fine on all 8 cores now but just bsod's when stress tested and reaching 80c? If that's the case then it could well be your cooling which isn't sufficient. Ideally an absolute top temp for this chip is 60c anything over that and it will lead to a shortened life. What cooler are you using?

    Let me know about the safe mode stress test you did and regarding the above. If need be i can certainly suggest a cheapish chip but am still hoping we can avoid that.
     
  3. Rob887

    Rob887 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    It crashed in safe mode.

    That seems to be correct ATM. It only crashes on stress test. Its been left on for 2 - 3 days as well.
    It did use to crash all the time though.

    I'm not 100% sure what cooling it has but I know its cheap, I get a feeling it came with the chip ?.


    Yes if we turn LLD to Extreme it will crash at 80c. If we put that on regulator it will crash at 50c.

    Kind regards
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hmm.. Now I wonder if the bios updates or driver updates have cured the earlier issue and your main problem is now cooling. The only thing that bothers me is the crashing at 50c. The air cooler that comes with the chip just isn't up to the job to be honest.
    Do you have thermal paste applied too?

    What are you using to monitor temps? Try using the hardware app you downloaded, you just need to click sensors when it first starts up..
     
  5. Rob887

    Rob887 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Using "Core Temp" To monitor. I will turn on 'Sensors'

    I've re-pasted the processor the other day..

    Just did some more testing.


    Prime95

    If I run the stress test with
    1 Thread Wont Blue Screen / Restart - 42c max
    2 Thread Wont Blue Screen / Restart - 42c max
    3 Thread Wont Blue Screen / Restart - 42c max
    4 Thread Wont Blue Screen / Restart - 47c max
    5 Thread Wont Blue Screen / Restart - 49c max
    6 Threads Sometimes blue screens after about 10 - 20 minutes - 50c max
    7 Threads it will last about 4 - 5 minutes before crashing 50c max
    8 threads (full test) about 1-2 minutes (some times less) 50c max

    All with Bios on LLD Regular
     
    #25 Rob887, Dec 15, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2013
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I forgot to ask how much RAM do you have? Are all 4 slots occupied?
     
  7. Rob887

    Rob887 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    16gb all four slots
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hmm... now this might be your issue.. AMD memory controllers are onchip and they are notoriously twitchy. Try running with only 2 sticks installed and see how she runs.. (I know you did this before but wasn't that before it was stable on all 8 cores)
     
  9. Rob887

    Rob887 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    This time it crashed with blue screen error staying on the screen.

    On the past 10 - 15 Stress tests it just restarts, This time it had the blue screen and logged a different error

    Code:
    A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage
    to your computer.
    
    The problem seems to be caused by the following file: hal.dll
    
    
    
    If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen,
    restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow
    these steps:
    
    Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed.
    If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer
    for any Windows updates you might need.
    
    If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware
    or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing.
    If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart
    your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then
    select Safe Mode.
    
    Technical Information:
    
    *** STOP: 0x00000124 (0x0000000000000000, 0xfffffa8007df8028, 0x00000000b0800000,
    0x0000000000040151)
    
    *** hal.dll - Address 0xfffff8000301b903 base at 0xfffff80003009000 DateStamp
    0x4a5bdf08
    
    I'll run it again just to see if it does it again....

    Edit: ^^^ Saying that i've just ran it again and it went back to the normal error.

    Code:
    A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage
    to your computer.
    
    The problem seems to be caused by the following file: ntoskrnl.exe
    
    
    
    If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen,
    restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow
    these steps:
    
    Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed.
    If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer
    for any Windows updates you might need.
    
    If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware
    or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing.
    If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart
    your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then
    select Safe Mode.
    
    Technical Information:
    
    *** STOP: 0x00000124 (0x0000000000000000, 0xfffffa8007ddd8f8, 0x0000000000000000, 
    0x0000000000000000)
    
    *** ntoskrnl.exe - Address 0xfffff800034f859c base at 0xfffff80003055000 DateStamp 
    0x5147dc36
    
    
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Thank you for posting the info Rob.

    Ok a stop x124 bsod is caused by an hardware error and normally one would go through the troubleshooting steps we've taken. If the stop x124 still appears the offending part needs to be returned and I'd contact either your supplier or AMD themselves as I'm not exactly sure about the RMA service but in any instant your first call should be to the supplier. These chips come with a 3yr warranty and as long as you haven't done anything to void it, like overclocking, you should be golden.

    In regards to a cheap replacement, if i remember correctly your in the UK like me. I use either:

    Overclockers:
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/productlist.php?groupid=701&catid=1967&subid=1825 (I notice they have a nice 6 core chip on offer)
    Or
    Scan:
    http://www.scan.co.uk/shop/computer-hardware/all/cpus-amd/amd-fx-series-multi-core-socket-am3plus (these have a slightly cheaper quad core)

    Let me know if i can help any further..
     
  11. Rob887

    Rob887 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    To be honest,
    I can't be bothered with the whole RMA process.

    I'm now going to order a AMD FX4-4300 see if it fixs the problem, If it does. I'll let you have the broken chip for all your help :).

    If it doesn't fix it.... I'll be back :)
     
    kemical likes this.
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hehe... good luck and don't worry about giving me the chip. Helping others has it's own rewards and besides I already got one.. :)
     
  13. Rob887

    Rob887 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    This computer as got mental now.
    Its crashing at every chance it gets.

    Chrome Crashes, Thunderbirds crashes and everything else crashes.

    I'll upload a new log.

    (it doesn't seem to be blue screening, But everything is crashing)
     

    Attached Files:

  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                            *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                            *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 3B, {c0000005, fffff8000307e15e, fffff88002747e10, 0}
    
    Probably caused by : ntkrnlmp.exe ( nt!ExAcquireResourceSharedLite+4e )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Is this with the new chip or are still using the same one?

    Your memory keeps being pointed at. You need to run memtest on each individual stick for at least a couple of passes.

    atikmdag.sys Fri Apr 24 11:51:57 2009 Please update your graphic driver
    http://support.amd.com/en-us

    Your still missing a service pack please update to SP1, links are posted above.
     
  15. Rob887

    Rob887 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Its with the old chip (The new chip should be there today i'll try that when i get home).

    I'll run Memtest86 tonight on one stick.

    I thought i updated the Graphics i will do it again when i get back.

    Service Pack SP1 had problems on install, I'll give it another go when i get back and see what errors it shows up.
     
  16. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    It could well be your old chip just giving you issues but see how you go with the new one. If it does the same follow my suggestions. What was wrong with the sp1 install? If you notice in the post i also included a readiness pack. It might worth trying that. It could also be that your system has blue screened that many times that the os is now corrupt.
     
  17. Rob887

    Rob887 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    New chip on.

    Stress testing as we speak. Its on its 6 pass and still fine.

    39c temp.


    After taking the old chip off I noticed one bent (really bent) pin ?
    What would this course ?

    regards
     
    Mike and kemical like this.
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Oh yeah that'll do it, you found the culprit Rob, well done! If your extremely careful you might be able to straighten it out but it's up to you. At least you now know what the issue was and have a solution toboot. Thank you for updating your thread and if you need any further help just ask... :)
     
  19. Rob887

    Rob887 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm back !.

    Its been fine since my last message apart from 5 minutes ago !!

    Got this error while doing some normal browsing


    Code:
    A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent damage
    to your computer.
    
    The problem seems to be caused by the following file: ntoskrnl.exe
    
    PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
    
    If this is the first time you've seen this stop error screen,
    restart your computer. If this screen appears again, follow
    these steps:
    
    Check to make sure any new hardware or software is properly installed.
    If this is a new installation, ask your hardware or software manufacturer
    for any Windows updates you might need.
    
    If problems continue, disable or remove any newly installed hardware
    or software. Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing.
    If you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart
    your computer, press F8 to select Advanced Startup Options, and then
    select Safe Mode.
    
    Technical Information:
    
    *** STOP: 0x00000050 (0xffffffff00b82db4, 0x0000000000000000, 0xfffff80003098f4e, 
    0x0000000000000005)
    
    *** ntoskrnl.exe - Address 0xfffff8000308e880 base at 0xfffff8000301f000 DateStamp 
    0x5147dc36
    
    
     
  20. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,806
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Rob if I was you I'd do a clean re-install as your install is probably corrupt after all that bsoding. As soon as you've re-installed you need to install the service pack (don't install drivers yet unless you need the network driver), see my links above. Any problems installling try the install readiness pack which i also linked to. Once you have the service pack on then run windows update. Once that's completed then install the rest of your drivers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...