Screen does not work anymore; windows dumps when booting, so I have to use safe mode

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by bsoddumps, Oct 11, 2016.

  1. bsoddumps

    bsoddumps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi forum,

    The screen of my laptop does not work anymore, despite suffering no physical damage. Therefore, from now on I am using an external monitor and safe mode with networking.
    When booting, the windows symbol appears normally, yet before showing the desktop a crash dump pops.
    Launch startup repair does not solves the issue, showing no results whatsoever.

    Thank yo so much in advance.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,410
    Likes Received:
    363
  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Wow did i miss this...
    To enable dump file production:
    Open the run application.
    Type sysdm.cpl in the run box and click ok.
    Look across the top of the system properties box for 'Advanced' and click that.
    Look for 'Startup and Recovery' near the bottom and click 'settings'.
    Near the bottom you'll see a drop down menu under the heading 'write debugging information'.
    In the drop down menu choose ' small memory dump (256KB)'
    Under 'small dump directory' make sure it says %SystemRoot%\Minidump.
    Click ok and your good to go.

    You also need a pagefile running of at least 200mb for mini-dumps (larger for memory dumps but a mini dump will do).

    Wait for the next bsod event and use the app provided in the above thread to collect data.

    Zip and post data.
     
  4. bsoddumps

    bsoddumps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Try and follow my guide above.
     
  6. bsoddumps

    bsoddumps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do not know what a pagefile is. Could you elaborate a bit?

    What app are you referring to?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Here's a screenshot of what you have to enable:

    dump.
     
  8. bsoddumps

    bsoddumps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, and regarding the app, which one should I use?
    Thanks in advance.
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    If you have never touched the pagefile then chances are it's fine and you do not need to worry about it. We only mention that because some users turn their pagefiles off when using an SSD. Basically a pagefile is virtual RAM, the system uses a portion of the HDD as RAM.

    As I mentioned in the thread found here:
    How to ask for help with a BSOD problem
    You'll find an app to help collect the data
    tool.JPG
     
  10. bsoddumps

    bsoddumps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    yes now that you enabled it and post the results
     
  12. bsoddumps

    bsoddumps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    First of all, thank you for being so patient with me.
    Here you are
     

    Attached Files:

  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hi,
    unfortunately no dump file was produced although i can see from the other data that your graphics driver doesn't look quite right in the dxdiag.
    As you might be aware laptop drivers are usually supplied by the manufacturer apart from some graphics drivers.

    Please use the Display Driver Uninstaller or DDU to uninstall your current driver. This app will also remove anything else left behind by previous installs.
    The DDU works best in safe mode:
    Display Driver Uninstaller (DDU) V17.0.2.1 Released. - Wagnardmobile Forum

    See if the system will boot to the desktop.

    If you can now access the desktop, visit your manufacturers homepage and download the Windows 7 drivers for your system GT520:
    Download Drivers and Manuals | Acer Official Site

    If you still can't access the desktop then post back.

    You can also find the dump files yourself. In the main windows folder look for a folder marked minidump.

    Your pagefile does look a little small. Follow this guide making sure that whatever figure you input, it's the same in both boxes as this stops pagefile fragmentation:
    How to increase Page File size or Virtual Memory in Windows

    Set the Pagefile size to something like 4.5GB (at the moment it's 875mb)

    Good luck with the testing.
     
  14. bsoddumps

    bsoddumps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi again,

    I can choose between 3 different graphics drivers, namely Nvidia, AMD and Intel. Which one should I select?
    Furthermore, I could 'set windows automatic driver installation to default'.

    I've already changed Pagefile to 45000


    Also, the folder for minidumps is empty.
     
    #14 bsoddumps, Oct 16, 2016
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2016
  15. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    I took a screenshot and arrowed the required driver:
    driversvideo.JPG

    Just above the driver arrowed is the Physx driver which is also needed.

    Generally drivers are best installed by yourself as these auto programs can get it wrong.

    Click on the 'C' drive and you'll see a number of folders. One will be called Windows and it's in here you can find the mindump folder.
     
  16. bsoddumps

    bsoddumps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I should've specified that it's the DDU that offers me those three graphic drivers to select up on the right corner. Which one should I chose?
    Also, there are no files at all in the folder for minidumps
     
  17. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    The option at the top.
    Did you bsod yet?

    Try rebooting and then see if the next bsod gives you a dump file.
     
  18. bsoddumps

    bsoddumps New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2016
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi again, there's a drop-down menu which shows the following options in the following order: graphics drivers, namely Nvidia, AMD and Intel.
    AMD is the one which appears as default, so should I leave it as such?
     
  19. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Where is this menu? Plus I thought your model laptop had an nvidia GT520?
     
  20. BIGBEARJEDI

    BIGBEARJEDI Honorable Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,791
    Likes Received:
    216
    @kemical: Just reading through this thread, and I was also confused, so I did some digging into the OP's original BSOD dump files and I think I may have found a discrepancy. Take a look at my notes here:

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    From OP’s original dxdiag posted Tue. 10/11/16) for System Model: Aspire 5742G:

    Name: AMD Radeon HD 6300M Series

    Device ID: PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68E4&SUBSYS_04871025&REV_00\4&6FAB1F9&0&0008

    Driver: n/a



    Also shown in MSINFO32 under IRQs:

    IRQ10: AMD Radeon HD6300M Series.



    Also shown in MSINFO32 under Components->Pantalla (Screen)

    AMD Radeon HD6300M Series

    AMD Radeon Graphics Processor (0x68E4)

    RAM: 512MB

    Version: 15.200.1062.1004

    Controller (controlador): c:\windows\system32\drivers\atikmpag.sys (8.14.1.6463, 649,50KB, 04/08/2015 3:42)


    ++++++++++++++++++++++++

    From the Acer support site:

    VGA AMD VGA DRIVER 8.741.0.0000 241.1MB 2010/08/18 DOWNLOAD

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I'm not sure where you are getting the NVidia GT520 from; his dxdiag file and msinfo32 file both show his graphics chip is the
    AMD Radeon HD6300M Series. Therefore, OP should be using the AMD driver, not the NVidia driver. Perhaps I missed something else that you saw. What I also noticed is that the AMD driver the OP has currently is dated 04/08/2015 in his Win7 currently running. The AMD driver listed above from the Acer support site for his model laptop is dated 08/18/2010; almost 5 years older than the AMD driver OP appears to have currently installed (at least he did on 10/11/16). It appears that OP may have gotten the wrong driver in his W7 configuration; possibly due to a failed W10 update or W10 AU update???o_O If I'm correct and the information the OP uploaded to us was also correct, he is somehow selecting the wrong video driver (neither NVidia or Intel are correct), and that could be causing his BSOD problems. Perhaps you could review what I have and take a closer look to see if that's the case. If I'm mistaken, please accept my apologies for butting in. LOL. Hope that helps!

    Cheers! :)
    <<<BIGBEARJEDI>>>
     

Share This Page

Loading...