SP1 won't install sqmapi.dll missing

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by raiden1701, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. raiden1701

    raiden1701 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Dell 1525 laptop and the other day I was updating it with Windows updates. My laptop didn't have SP1 yet so I installed that with some other updates and then my internet stopped working, even though it showed as connected. So I did a system restore to before the updates which fixed the internet. Then I installed all the updates except SP1 and the internet still worked. But when I tried to install SP1 (either in win update or with SP1 download) I get the error, "missing sqmapi.dll".

    This has happened to me before on a PC where I installed SP1 then did a system restore to uninstall it, then tried to install SP1 again, then got a similar error. So both times when uninstalling SP1 with system restore and trying to re-update SP1 has had the same consequences.

    So what is going on?
     
  2. Adamsappleone

    Adamsappleone U.S.Navy D.A.V.

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,662
    Likes Received:
    122
    Hello raiden,

    Not sure what's going on with your lappy, I have the same Dell Inspiron1525 and didn't have an issue after installing SP1.

    Could you install it again, then after installation reboot if necessary, then click "Start", then "Run", then copy/paste SFC /scannow in the box and click "OK".
    If that doesn't work, you could try locating the .dll, most likely in C:/Windows/System32, copy the .dll and place it on a CD, install SP1, then re-install/re-register the .dll file.

    Here's a thread which seems to be the same issue;
    SQMAPI.dll missing while installing Windows 7 SP1 - Operating Systems

    Hope this helps

    Don
     
  3. raiden1701

    raiden1701 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, I tried all that but SP1 still won't install. I think I'll just format and reinstall windows fresh.

    Thanks
     
  4. nmsuk

    nmsuk Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,695
    Likes Received:
    194
    Try the Service pack readyness tool before doing a reinstall.
     
    #4 nmsuk, Jul 30, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...