Temp account login problem in Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by farragut, Nov 25, 2013.

  1. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a problem with Windows 8. This morning when I went to check my ASUS Zenbook laptop, the PC wouldn't access the network, even tho I could see our home network was working. I did a hard reboot and returned several minutes later to find I had been logged in under a temp password and all the desktop files I had were in the trashcan. Here's the error message that popped up in the lower right of the task bar:

    "You've been signed in with a temp profile. You can't access your files, and files created in this profile will be deleted when you sign out. To fix this, sign out and try signing in later. Please see the event log for details or contact your system admin."

    When I try logging out and then back in, I get the same problem. One other note: During the login procedure, this text appears in the bottom right of the screen:

    "Windows Update. Your PC will restart in 2 days to finish installing important updates."

    Any help you could offer would be greatly appreciated!
     
  2. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Use this tutorial :
    http://www.howtogeek.com/107511/
    It shows you how to go to Safe Mode in Windows 8 and 8.1
    Go over the tutorial once before you start.
    In that tutorial, you will see an option to do System Restore.
    Try that route first. Pick a good date when you did not have this problem as your restore point.
    After it is done, find out if you can login to your admin account in Normal mode.

    Please post back the result before I continue.
    If that does not work for you, then we'll have to continue with the tutorial and go to Safe Mode with Command prompt.
     
    farragut likes this.
  3. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    The first message is not too clearly worded.
    It should imply that it will give you two days to restart and, if you have not done that, it will force a restart,

    Have you actually tried to restart?
    I am guessing that the reason you could not access the network, was because some updates were being downloaded and taking priority. Those would be the reason for requesting a restart.
    I could well be wrong, but I think that accessing safety mode would exacerbate the problem
     
  4. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx to both of you for replying. I'm in the process of restarting, but it's been cycling with a blank screen (other than the Asus animation balls continuing to chase each other in a circle) for the last 15 minutes. How long should it take before I elect to do a hard reboot?
     
  5. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99

    15 min seems to be too long.
    You could a bit longer if you wish.

    Should you finally decide to do a hard reboot..................
    after you have done that, please try this method :
    It is to enable the Built-in Admin account and then, use the Built-in admin to create a new admin account like the one you failed to login.
    Then, see if you can login to the new admin.

    Here is how.....
    when you are at the win 8 desktop, press Win logo key + X key together > at the popup box, select Command Prompt (admin) > at the flashing prompt, copy and paste this command line.....
    net user administrator /active:yes
    press Enter > exit command prompt.
    Can you do the above, so far ? If yes, please continue.....

    Left click at Start > select switch users > login to the Built-in Admin ( it has no password, just click Enter at the password box)
    From the Built-in Admin account, create a new admin account like the one you failed to login.
    Switch users.
    Can you login to the new admin account?
     
    #5 davidhk129, Nov 25, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2013
    farragut likes this.
  6. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    According to MS. If it is the initial batch of updates, and they are all on automatic, it could take up to an hour - your choice?
     
  7. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, waited for one hour and change, then gave it a hard reboot. Upon reboot, I'm still being signed in on a temp profile. I guess the next step is to create another profile and copy everything to that, then delete the old profile? Or, would you advise something else?
     
  8. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    I don't know whom you are addressing to.
    You have my suggestions posted above.
    You are actually ahead of me. My idea is ... yes, create a new admin account, transfer everything to this new account > then delete the one you failed to login.
    Do you know how to do the files transfer?
    If yes, then I am done with this thread.
    Good luck.
     
    farragut likes this.
  9. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    One last suggestion.
    When dust is settled, run a system file check. It is to look for corrupt files. It will try to do repair if any corrupt files are found.
    If you don't know how to do that............assuming you are on a new admin in normal mode.
    press Win logo key + X key> select Command prompt (admin) > at the flashing prompt, copy/paste this command line......
    sfc /scannow
    press Enter.
    Wait. It will take quite a while.
    At the end it will give you a report. It will say either ( paraphrasing )...
    No integrity violation
    Found corrupt files and repair is successfull
    Found corrupt files but unable to repair.
     
    #9 davidhk129, Nov 25, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2013
    farragut likes this.
  10. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx, David. I opted to do a System Restore and upon clicking that option, the screen went blank and it's been that way for approx 2.5 hours. No evidence of any disk activity based on the disk light, but I don't know if this is 'normal'. If the Restore doesn't work, I'll follow your suggestions above.
     
  11. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    A slight change of procedures......
    After you have enabled the Built-in Admin account, use it to run the system file check first. Procedures are the same as I posted.
    After the sfc /scannow is done, see what the report says.
    If it says it has successfully repaired corrupt files, see if you can login to you admin account in normal mode.
    If you still can't, then login to the Built-in Admin again and create a new admin account.
     
    farragut likes this.
  12. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    David, any idea how long it takes for a System Restore to complete? it's been approx 5 hours now and still no sign of activity from my PC.
     
  13. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Abort system restore.
    Enable the Built-in Admin account > then do a system file check
    If system file check says it has found corrupt files and it has repaired them successfully, then try to login to your current admin account in normal mode.
    If you still cannot login to your current admin account, then log in to the Built-in Admin again, and use it to create a new admin account.
    Then see if you can log into the new admin.
     
    farragut likes this.
  14. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, aborted. how to I enable the built-in admin account? you're talkin with a noob here....
     
  15. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    To enable Built-in Admin account.............
    when you are at the win 8 desktop, press Win logo key + X key together > at the popup box, select Command Prompt (admin) > at the flashing prompt, copy and paste this command line.....
    net user administrator /active:yes
    press Enter > it will tell you if the admin is enabled successfully > exit command prompt.

    To log in to Built-in Admin account.............
    Bottom left > click the Start icon > click the pointer next to Shut Down > click Switch User > select the Built-in Admin account which is the one that says "Administrator" in the box.It has no password, so just press Enter at the password box. It will prepare the desktop and then let you in. You are now in Built-in Admin Account.

    To create a new admin account by using the Built-in Admin..........
    You do know how to do this, do you?
     
    farragut likes this.
  16. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, the admin is enabled successfully. However, at the next step, there's no Start icon showing on my task bar. where else may I find it?
     
  17. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    What do you have at the very bottom left of the taskbar?
     
    farragut likes this.
  18. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the left I have the IE, Folders, and Chrome icons. On the right, I have the usual assortment of Action Center, Battery, WiFi, Speakers, Keyboard, and Time/Date icons.
     
  19. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Press the CTRL+ALT+DEL keys at the same time > then select Switch User
    Image 3.
     
    farragut likes this.
  20. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, done. looks like the software is taking me thru the orientation portion while it sets things up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...