Temp account login problem in Windows 8

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by farragut, Nov 25, 2013.

  1. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, all finished. what's next?
     
  2. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Update me. Where or at what stage you are at now?

    Are you in Built-in Admin account ?
    If yes, go back to my previous instructions and do a system file check.
     
    farragut likes this.
  3. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm logged in as the Administrator. My old profile is still there, and I've checked to see that all my old files are still there on the C & D drives. I guess I'm ready to create a new profile and transfer everything over to it?
     
  4. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    I would first do a system file check first. If it finds corrupt files and manages to repair them, you might not have to create a new admin account.
    Furthermore, if you have corrupt files, a new admin account may not work either.
     
    farragut likes this.
  5. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    where do I find the system file check command?
     
  6. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Farragut,
    The instructions were posted in one of my previous posts.
    Go back and find it. Do some searching yourself. Don't let me do all the work, especially repeating what I had already posted.
     
    farragut likes this.
  7. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Of course, my apologies. I do appreciate your help and your patience. I found the previous info and have started the scan.
     
  8. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    David, if you're still there: scan completed, corrupt files found. "...but was unable to fix some of them. Details are included in the CBS.Log windir\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. For example C:\Windows\Logs\CBS\CBS.log. Note that logging is currently not supported in offline servicing scenarios." So, based on your earlier advice, I'll create a new admin account and copy everything over.
     
  9. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Keep your fingers crossed. The scan report is not good. It might not be detrimental, but not good news.

    Ok. Give it a try.
    In your Built-in Admin account, create a new admin just like the one you failed to login.
    The method is NOT the same as enabling Built-in Admin account.
    Can you do that by yourself or do you need help?
     
  10. farragut

    farragut New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Done (with apparently no problems). I'm in the process of copying things over & downloading/installing previously-purchased programs, etc. Thx for all your help!
     
  11. davidhk129

    davidhk129 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    99
    Really? Wow !! Congrats!!!

    You are welcome.
     

Share This Page

Loading...