Windows 10 virtual machine (almost) complete newbie requests assistance to identify what's needed

cameronian

Hello

OK, bad news first. I'm a near 74 year old engineer, and have very little experience with modern operating systems, though I have quite a bit with older systems.

For many years I've used a machine running Win XP Pro with SP3. Mainly this machine is used for technical work - engineering drawing, modelling, calculations, image processing, etc. Unfortunately, the hardware has died - failure in the chipset as far as I can determine. Even more unfortunately, quite a high proportion of the people who wrote the software I use have also died and there is no chance the software will be updated beyond XP.

I very rapidly found out that in any case there were no more quality Socket 1150 boards available to buy as this is, I believe, the last Intel incarnation that will run XP.

As a solution to this problem I am considering building a more modern PC capable of running a virtual machine which would contain the XP O/S and enable me to load the specialized software. First point to make: this machine will never be on the internet (other than to activate an O/S) and will never have carried any personal details, done any banking or even have contact lists. It is an engineering tool like a micrometer or set of feeler gauges.

I am a little reluctant to consider this option because I did some work around 2004 using VMWare Workstation to run some other specialized application software; I found it terribly slow and was quite disappointed. However, the intervening 14 years may have seen some small improvement in hardware performance, and hopefully even extensions so that some of these virtual machine instructions can now run in silicon rather than software.