Windows 10 W10 Pro Laptop suddenly cold boots slow (has SSD for C:)

WonderWoman77

Hello,

I am a help desk tech with 25 yrs experience so pretty skilled I would say. I am having a sudden issue with my personal laptop. It has recently as in within the past week started taking an unusually long time to get Windows to start from a cold boot. I wind up sitting for approximately 3-5 minutes with just a blank black screen with a solid not blinking underscore as opposed to a blinking vertical cursor. I have been thrilled with my laptop since installing an SSD for the OS disk last year. It has been booting fully into Win10 in one minute or less.

For full disclosure this machine is officially 10 years old as of this year (I found my purchase receipts confirming purchase was 2011) but not really because I have over the 10 years upgraded things.

My General Laptop Specs
HP Pavilion DV7-32bUS
Intel Core i7 running at 2.20 GHz
16GB RAM
2 physical drives
OS Disk = 1TB Samsung 860 EVO SSD
Data Disk = 1TB HGST Travelstar 5K1000 HTS541010A9E680 (0J22413) 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive
OS = Windows 10 Pro

I am attaching the full export from my sysinfo.

I keep the machine up to date on all Windows Updates and virus and malware is Malware Bytes and I keep it up to date also.

If you need me to provide any other specific details please advise me what will help track this anomaly down and fix it.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Wonder Woman77

Attachments

• HP DV7 Sys Info Specs.txt
    1.4 MB · Views: 737
The only thing I can come up with is that it is looking for an installed piece of hardware that it can not find and goes through many retries before it gives up and boots.
If you have not looked in device manger go there and see if any items have the yellow triangle.