Will you buy Window 7 without Toolbars?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Scott Eaton, May 15, 2009.

  1. john3347

    john3347 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    36
    "Does anyone know of a file that can be saved, that will return your desktop to a previous state? "

    "System Restore" and "Windows Home Server" are two methods to restore a desktop to a previous state. I don't know any way to save it like as an image file or anything like that. Maybe someone here with a whole lot more expertise that I will have some plan.
     
  2. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I have posted a method in this thread, which the OP has already used succesfully.
     
  3. NCGeek

    NCGeek New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I would buy windows 7 even though it has no toolbars such as quick launch or media player but why do you need them now that they are basically embedded into the taskbar in 7 if something you want isn't there just pin that bad boy to the taskbar
    Matt
     
  4. BigFeet

    BigFeet Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yep. I like the toolbar just fine.
     
  5. Ahmed Alzayani

    Ahmed Alzayani New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    YES ...... I don't care about these "toolbars" (MS call them Deskbands) , one (the superbar) is good for me, and BTW i love the new superbar .

    OK I use these toolbars but only in the server side when i am working, when i log to a server i need to do what i want to do fast specially if i am fixing a problem, so i put all admin tools (event viewer , Regedit, resources monitor .... etc) in a toolbar, i will put backup apps and some other useful tools in different toolbar, and all the core Application in a third one (I don't like desktop shortcuts, they tend to be messy ) .................. I didn't try server 2008 R2 yet, so i am not sure if MS removed deskbands from it also.

    I am very sure you can add them back using a free APP if you really want them. you can use this http://gallery.live.com/liveItemDetail.aspx?li=7eb0c316-b3d1-416e-bff4-5b7ed53ebe11&bt=1&pl=1
     
  6. Mike2k

    Mike2k New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never used toolbars before, but with the elimination of quick launch in Win7 I had to bring out the toolbars to get a quick launch feel back to my desktop. Pinning things to the taskbar and giving each app its own "start menu" (jump lists) is just not efficient imo. Take a browser for example. Say, Firefox is pinned to the taskbar, I click it to open, then the icon goes away while the browser is open. What if I want to open another instance of the browser? I have to right click the open browser and click on the exe again. With quick launch, just simply left-click the icon again to open as many instances as needed. Just an example.

    I don't pin anything to the taskbar and just use toolbars. One toolbar is for installed apps and the other is for system apps

    [​IMG]
     
  7. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Not sure what I am doing right (or wrong!) but I do not have that problem.
    There was no miracle fast open with XP or Vista. All it did was created a convenient visible shortcut to the executive file. This could be equally achieved by creating shortcuts on the Desktop, for example.
    In Windows 7, with the elimination of the so-called shortcut bar, the whole of the taskbar now has that function.
    But, quoting your example, if I click my Firefox icon (pinned to the taskbar) the icon remains in place. Right clicking the icon shows me another instance to the .exe shortcut. I can go on opening as many Firfox browsers, as my memory will allow. ??
     
  8. Mike2k

    Mike2k New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you click your firefox icon that is pinned to the taskbar it essentially becomes an open "window" in the taskbar. To open another instance, you need to right click the app in the taskbar and then left click to open another instance. Although this is not overly tedious, it is just an example of an extra step involved.

    I'm in no way saying the pinning to the taskbar option is bad or not, it's simply an opinion and Microsoft has taken away several UI options that us techies have been using for so many years. I don't mind change, but the options should be there for both, old schoolers and users who want the new stuff
     
  9. fjgold

    fjgold New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    60
    Or there's always the FreeLaunchBar solution I posted about earlier in this thread. It workd better than the quick launch bar
    and pinning shortcuts to the taskbar for that matter.
     
  10. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Two clicks doesn't bother me too much.
    One of the reasons for Vista's downfall, was the frequent complaints of bloat. There are several other threads also asking for old methods to be incorporated into Windows 7. This will, once again, of course, start to bring up the bloat level.

    But I may have misunderstood something in your original post - " I click it to open, then the icon goes away while the browser is open. What if I want to open another instance of the browser? I have to right click the open browser and click on the exe again." - Why does your icon go away?
     
  11. Mike2k

    Mike2k New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe i"m missing something or just not explaining correctly. Perhaps this screeny willl help :)

    [​IMG]
     
  12. t800

    t800 New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I will buy it.
     
  13. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,716
    Likes Received:
    380
    Yes about the light weight bit . Why does it have to be around 3 gig the light weight setup :confused:
     
  14. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I think I'll just agree to differ. Different techniques perhaps. I still see your icons for FireFox (two of them).
    This is all I get. (Sorry, my taskbar is a little empty compared to yours)
     
  15. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Mike2k,

    I believe you have choosen Never Combine when you right-click on the taskbar and choose properties.
     
  16. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,716
    Likes Received:
    380
    Just taken a chance to say hello to reghakr - please ignore my post . He does so much he shoulld be applauded .
    Nice Car :)
     
  17. bloomers

    bloomers New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will probably buy it, but I can not live without them. I will have to get a 3rd party product.

    I don't want to have to use the start menu or the quick launch or the desktop. All of them require too many clicks and I am lazy and impatient. With the docked toolbars, all of my frequently used applications are one click away. Just as I like them.

    I would not have thought that it would be this difficult.

    bloomers
     
  18. Camride

    Camride New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    12
    All you have to do is hold the shift key and click on the icon again. It will open a brand new window.
     
  19. vahnx

    vahnx New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    By light weight, I mean FAST. Does it really matter about disc space now a days? It's all about speed, we have plenty of storage for as "fat" OS as any company can make. Don't forget, programs like Media Center must be pretty big (around the 100MB size).
     
  20. lakewoodjoe112

    lakewoodjoe112 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think you miss the beauty of both the bottom toolbar with the common apps, jump lists, etc., as well as the incredible speed of the start menu search option. I can find anything that I need from the start menu search within seconds.
     

Share This Page

Loading...