Windows 8.1 Window 8.1.1 update & SuperAntiSpyware

Discussion in 'Windows Security' started by badrobot, Apr 20, 2014.

  1. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    I have a Superantispyware pro that came with 3 home use licenses. I used 1 for my main PC running Windows 7, 1 for my HTPC running Windows 8.1 & 1 for my 10" tablet running Windows 8.1. After updating to 8.1.1 , my 2 Windows 8 systems were recognized as new systems when I open up Superantispyware. Since all my 3 SAS licenses are already registered to 3 pcs, it's telling me that I exceeded my license usage.

    SAS_license.

    But when I opened up SAS on my Win 7 PC, I did not get this license issue. Both my Windows 8.1.1 PCs had this license warning.
    What the hell Microsoft is doing with all these updates? Every time they release an update, they make a lot of mess. Anyone else had licensing issue?
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    I don't have the Pro version, I just use the free version. You may need to put in a support ticket to SAS and see what they have to say. Your the first one that I've heard bring this issue to light, I'm wondering if there are others.
     
    Trouble likes this.
  3. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    81
    I have Pro on both my pc's and don't have that issue on either, which are running Windows 8.1 and 8.1 Pro. Just fill out a support ticket at SUPERAntiSpyware's web site. http://superantispyware.com/support.html Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on Customer Support Request.
     
  4. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    I almost did that last night. But when I tried again, I was given the option to re-activate the license but it also game me a warning that it will deactivate the oldest PC where I have the same license activated which is my main Win 7 PC. I did it anyway. But when I went to check the SAS on Win 7, the license was not deactivated. Maybe the "old PC" it was referring to is the Win 8.1 on the same machine before the update. That is weird. I will observe this one first. Thanks.
     
  5. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    wouldn't want to share one of the licenses....Mr. I have 3....lol. Just kidding!!!!
     
    badrobot likes this.
  6. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    81
    Just let their support handle it for you. That's the best route to go.
     
    badrobot likes this.
  7. badrobot

    badrobot Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    102
    Thanks. I will contact SAS if I encounter anymore problem. Reactivating the license seems to work without affecting other machines.
     
  8. brkkab

    brkkab Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    81
    Your welcome. Don't be suprized if it takes a few day's to here from them.
     
  9. bachsanab2

    bachsanab2 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just let their support handle it for you.
     

Share This Page

Loading...