windows 7 bootup problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by G-Force, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. G-Force

    G-Force New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello,

    i am running the evaluation copy of windows 7 ultimate build 7100.

    i have a problem, everytime i boot up windows. it will go through all the loading screens and then it will go to a black screen where the login screen should be. i figured out that when i push the power button on the computer, the computer will go to sleep and when i turn it back on the login screen will be there and i can get onto my computer fine. it has been a few months and it is getting quite annoying to be doing this everytime i boot up my computer, and it only works 90% of the time.

    i have updated my graphics drives and that did not help.

    i am running

    alienware auror 9700
    AMD turion 64 ml40 2.20 GHz
    1.5GB RAM
    nvidia geforce go 7900gs 256mb

    if you could give me any suggestions, i will eventually try reinstalling but if i can find another solution, it would be better ;)
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Have you tried to restore the system to an earlier time?
     
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Have you tried a different/newer monitor?
     
  4. mtler

    mtler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah, i have the same problem and same solution to it. i'm still looking for a real fix.
     
  5. G-Force

    G-Force New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's had this problem since day one of installing windows 7
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Oh ok...hmm... bummer! What about the copy of 7 your using? Has it been tried on a different machine? If it was a bad burn or crappy download then itmight be that it's the actual disk which is at fault..?
     
  7. G-Force

    G-Force New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeh, that probably is it. ill just wait until i go buy it, and try reinstalling
     
  8. mtler

    mtler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    nah. this is straight from BestBuy and I'm using the 64-bit version.

    I've done system restore to a date before this problem arose and it is still happening now.

    I'll figure this out eventually.
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Did you upgrade or do a clean install?
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,784
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Ok.. No worries. Retail version is available now so it's it's a case of splashing the cash..:eek:
     
  11. mtler

    mtler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    so this answer could be premature as it's only been 2hrs and 5 start ups....

    but.....

    I used Windows' automatic updates and apparently, there was a driver update for my ATI Radeon HD2400Pro graphics card (yeah, I'm pretty sure it's nothing to brag about since it wasn't even a top notch graphics card when I got my new PC over a year ago).

    so far, so good. I haven't had a logon problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...