Windows 7 BSOD on new build

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by crashjesse, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. crashjesse

    crashjesse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello,
    I built a new computer with the following specs
    nVidea evga gt210 512 mb video card
    amd phenom ii x2 550 chip
    Barracuda 3.5-inch SATA 5900 RPM 1.5TB Hard Drive
    gigabyte ga-790xta-ud4
    CORSAIR XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model

    I originally used the case and power supply(450 watts) from my old computer. On the first night I installed windows 7 and my other software and it worked great. The next morning when I started it up it BSOD.

    I bought a new 750 watt power supply, a new case, and a new 400G Hd and it crashed again.


    I've ran memtest on the memory and they passed

    I have had multiple bsod errors including
    Memory_Management
    bad_pool_header
    and another one I didn't write down

    sometimes when it recovers from a BSOD it gives me an option to debug a bad file.

    I have attached the first and last mini dump and my msinfo32 spec

    I took out one stick of memory and it crashed again.

    I've installed all the windows updates

    last night I changed the power settings in bios to 1.65v for my memory, and it still crashed

    Will you please help me make my system stable. I have no idea why it keeps crashing, everything is new.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    I would first try unninstalling mcafee security scanner and any other components it has and then also unninstall AVG which was involved in the crash and replacing with Microsoft Security Essentials then upload anymore minidumps if you crash again ?

    you could do with updating this driver too
    ?

    what memtest did you use ?
     
    #2 ickymay, Feb 25, 2010
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2010
  3. crashjesse

    crashjesse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    crashed again

    Thanks for your reply,
    I used memtest86 for my memtest
    I uninstalled macafee security scanner, AVG and installed Microsoft Security Essentials.
    It worked good for a couple days, they it crashed a couple times today.
    My firefox keeps crashing intermittently also.
    I'm attaching the mini dump
     

    Attached Files:

  4. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    seems to be a problem with symbols but it shows as BugCheck 1000008E

    I suggest "Try (changing) borrow a video adapter to test, Check for any BIOS updates, Disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing." ?

    make sure you are fully backed up then try running driver verifier :
    let us know any progress ?
     
  5. crashjesse

    crashjesse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    more crash info

    Hello again.
    I haven't had a chance to do you things you recommended in your latest post yet.

    Firefox crashed on me and then I had another BSOD
    I was able to paste a screen shot of the error before it crashed

    I have a 1GB USB stick I use often, and I'm starting to think that it might be the culprit.
    My computer crashed when I had it plugged into the front computer usb slot.
    Than I restarted it and I was able to access the USB by plugging it into the motherboard on the back of the computer.

    I'm attaching my latest crash file, and a word doc with a copy of the screen shot.

    So,
    Is it a USB hardware issue, or a software issue?

    Would a fresh install of Windows 7 help me, or should I throw away the USB?

    I'm going to work on the things you recommended in your latest post now,
    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi crashjesse,
    I checked your Bios version and it seems that there is an update (see screenshot)

    View attachment 5572

    Even when buying a new motherboard it's not always the case where it will come preloaded with the latest firmware..
     
  7. crashjesse

    crashjesse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    I downloaded and opened the exe bios file version F2 last week,
    I downloaded and opened the exe bios file version F3A today
    Is that all I have to do to update my bios?
    Simply clicking on the exe file?

    My computer is running great at the minute and all of my problems have happened around my usb ports.
    First it was my Linksys usb wireless adapter,
    Then, it crashed the day after I had my iPod plugged in,
    Then it crashed today when my USB memory stick was plugged in,

    The usb plug in's from the case to the motherboard were confusing to me when I initially built my computer,
    what are the chances that I plugged them into the motherboard incorrectly and that's what has been causing my problems.
     
  8. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    possibly if they arent the standard molded plug ?

    what make and model of power supply are you using ?

    have you done a power calculation >> check your PSU minimum requirements here
     
  9. crashjesse

    crashjesse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    It says I only need 275watts on the calculator

    Brand new
    Thermaltake WingRS 201 VJ60001N2Z Mid tower case

    and Coolmax 700 watt atx cu-700b power supply

    The plug ins for the front panel stuff were separate. But it was all brand new, so ?
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Flashing Gigabyte motherboards is relatively simple plus they have a 'Dual-Bios' set-up which means if the flash fails or screws up in someway (let's say you had a powercut right in the middle of flashing?) then the back-up would kick in.
    The file you downloaded needs to be unzipped and placed on either a floppy or thumb drive which have been formatted to FAT32. This will allow you to flash the board using a method called 'Qflash'. I feel that this is better than the automated process as you have more control over which version of Bios you ultimately flash with. For a set of PDF files on this process please go here: Q-Flash

    It might be worth checking this. I see your board is capable of USB3 so wonder if this has something to do with it?
     
    #10 kemical, Mar 3, 2010
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2010
  11. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    PSU sounds good so maybe see if you can create the crash using the motherboards USB ports on the back of the case ?
     
  12. crashjesse

    crashjesse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the instructions on how to update bios.

    I updated to the latest bios

    when I restarted it gave me an option to load Windows 7(there were 2 Windows 7 options)

    When I go to my computer it shows
    3 hd's even though I only have 2 SAta HD's
    it shows
    Local disk(c:)
    System reserved(f:)
    Local Disk(G:)
    The system reserved disk only has 99mb total size(with 61.8mb free)


     
  13. crashjesse

    crashjesse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    I ran the Windows 7 repair from the original Windows 7 DVD and rebooted and it started without the second Windows 7 boot option.
    Things are looking good.
    We'll see If I can go a week without a BSOD
     
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Yes the system reserved partition is meant to be there and is needed by 7 to store certain files. If 7 is installed onto a already formatted disk it then doesn't create this partition but instead creates a hidden folder. Anyway, I'm not sure why it's appearing in 'Computer' but it sounds like your figuring it out... :)
     
  15. crashjesse

    crashjesse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Last night it was working good
    I added my music to Itunes and shut it down
    This morning it BSOD again, first thing
    another bad_Pool_Header
    I've included the mini dump
    Please help me fix this, it's driving me nuts
     

    Attached Files:

  16. crashjesse

    crashjesse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    I ran the driver verifier

    Hello,
    I ran the driver verifier, and now it crashes immediately

    every time I start it
     

    Attached Files:

  17. crashjesse

    crashjesse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    I deleted the verifier settings, and now I can get into Windows without it crashing immediately
    When I look under device manager there is a yellow yield symbol on my pc
    when I look at the hardware section of my pc it shows 2 yellow yield symbols
    1- on Marvell 91xx ata device / type(other devices)
    1- on Universal Serial Bus Controller/ type(other devices)

    In the devices and printers control panel
    There are 2 things unspecified
    both are Logitech USB Devices

    My wireless keyboard and mouse(logitech y-rh35) works, but it does not have updated drivers from Logitech

    I'm gonna go buy a new $30 Windows 7 wireless keyboard today, as a way of troubleshooting

    Also,
    Why does Firefox keep crashing?

    Please help,
    Thanks
     
  18. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,790
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  19. crashjesse

    crashjesse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Preinstall driver?
    does that mean I'm screwed now that I already installed Windows 7
    How many of these divers should I install?
     
  20. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    no just go grab all of the drivers for your system and install them until all your devices are fully up to date with latest drivers :)

    regarding the .dmp file the symbols won't load giving the same "BugCheck 1000008E" and your windows 7 build number isn't current
    GDR is normally distributed via Windows Update and Microsoft Download Center to improve user experience, and contains software updates that address widespread critical issues, such as security vulnerabilities, and that are broadly released. The fact that Microsoft adds GDR into the build string of OS kerner (ntoskrnl.exe) of Windows 7 RTM may signify that the reliability and stability can still be improved considerably.

    I am not sure how much help I can offer you while symbols won't load and your build number is unusual and possibly unstable ?

    please can you check your NT kernel by running an elevated cmd prompt "where /r c:\ /f /t ntoskrnl.* > 0 & start notepad 0" (copy paste letters in bold) then see notepad output and post here ?
     

Share This Page

Loading...