Windows 7 XP mode doesn't work with Intel Chipset??

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by DPounds, Nov 13, 2009.

  1. DPounds

    DPounds New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is MS coming up with a solution for this? Over 75% of all PC's running today have an Intel Chipset. So are they going to solve the problem or just keep saying how great it nis when only about 25% of people out there can use this feature?
     
  2. Tepid

    Tepid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    38
    I have an intel chipset and XP Mode works fine for me.

    So I have no idea what you are talking about.
     
  3. DPounds

    DPounds New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Krypto

    Krypto Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    37
    Kind of a bummer for most intel proccessors but if you have virtualization tech in proccessor you good to go my amd proccessor passed the test.
     
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Some instructions talk about turning things on in the bios, have you or did you need to do that?
     
  6. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Yes I had to go into bios and enable virtualization. After a HP bios update I had to do it a second time.
    Joe
     
  7. Tepid

    Tepid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yes,, it's true,, if you do not have hardware virtualization, XP Mode will not work.
    it says it right on the MS site, so, it's not a secret.

    So yes,,,, XP Mode does work on Intel Chipsets that support hardware virtualization.

    You make it sound as though XP Mode doesn't work at all on Intel Chipsets which is 100% completely and utterly false.

     
    #7 Tepid, Nov 16, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...