windows explorer keeps crashing

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by awm, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. Jumperman

    Jumperman New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows Explorer has stopped working

    Please Please Please help!
    I keep on getting the following error when I close the Windows Explorer:
    "Windows Explorer has stopped working" and the following detail:
    Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
    Application Name: explorer.exe
    Application Version: 6.0.6001.18000
    Application Timestamp: 47918e5d
    Fault Module Name: iefdm2.dll_unloaded
    Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
    Fault Module Timestamp: 474aaf90
    Exception Code: c0000005
    Exception Offset: 031f16d3
    OS Version: 6.0.6001.2.1.0.256.1
    Locale ID: 7177
    Additional Information 1: fd00
    Additional Information 2: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160
    Additional Information 3: fd00
    Additional Information 4: ea6f5fe8924aaa756324d57f87834160

    I have installed Vista now for the third time but after a week or two the problem re-appears. I use Windows Vista Ultimate (32bit) and I have installed SP1. What can I do to rectify this problem??
     
  2. Mike

    Mike Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    8,488
    Likes Received:
    783
    Re: Windows Explorer has stopped working

    A third party program may be causing problems with Explorer. Look and see what programs you have running in your system tray. This could also be caused by malware. Try the following tools:

    CCleaner - CCleaner - Home- Run the registry scan and repair after installing. Also try removing unused files on the system to see if this corrects the problem.

    If you have System Restore try going back to a time before this problem happened, or if you suspect a program that may be causing this problem uninstall it and see if the problem continues.
     
  3. elle

    elle New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You guys sound too clever for me but here goes. Purchased new HP computer with Vista and HP Photosmart 7200 series. Computer works fine, cable internet but when i install the Photosmart and try to print anything, my internet connection stops. Can only retrieve it by using restore. Seems to work ok till a fax comes and tries to print, or i try to print anything. Phoned HP Photosmart, just said to reinstall. Have done this 6 times now. Really tearing my hair out (and I havent much as I have just finished chemo) Please any ideas would be great.
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,839
    Likes Received:
    1,568
    Hi Elle,
    welcome to the forum.
    I imagine you have a installation disk for the printer? This will contain the drivers needed to make the device work although they may be a little out of date.
    Downloading and installing the latest version 'may' prove to be a fix but if not at least thats one area ticked and we cam move on to find another solution.

    Check here for your model and driver:
    Product search results
     
  5. amy

    amy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: vista ultimate - explorer.exe crashing, continuous cycle :(

    I would recommend to run tests on the hard drive also
     
  6. Buzi Nguy

    Buzi Nguy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: vista ultimate - explorer.exe crashing, continuous cycle :(

    I have and it's no fun :p
     
  7. dharvey

    dharvey New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: vista ultimate - explorer.exe crashing, continuous cycle :(

    I am new to this type of forum. I read through everything, but I still am not sure how to fix the explorer problem. It started out as functionality issues with printing from explorer and now I can't open it or use explorer at all. thankful I also had Firefox downloaded. I prefer explorer, but will have to switch if I can not figure out to how to make it work.

    Frustrated, dharvey
     

Share This Page

Loading...