Windows Media Player 12

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by jefins, Feb 21, 2009.

  1. jefins

    jefins New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    How to get windows media player toolbar in build 7022 without downgrading wmp to 11?
     
  2. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    That feature has been takin out of WMP 12 unfortunately and replaced with the very streamlined controls in the taskbar preview window.. ;) I don't know of any way to get the old toolbar back.. It may be added to a later build but for now we're stuck with the controls in the taskbar preview window....

    So we went from this:

    View attachment 266

    To this:

    View attachment 267

    Like I said, hopefully they'll include the old way in the RC.. but even if they don't I'm sure someone out there will figure out a crack for it... ;)

    BTW: How do you find WMP 12 is for stability? I find it's a HUGE improvement over WMP10 and 11! Although I still favor VLC Media Player for ALL my media needs.. :)
     
  3. jefins

    jefins New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well, i have no problems with wmp 12, it loads fast, it doesn't hang up PC even for a seconds. Hmm, for video i use VLC too. Before wmp 12 i used winamp, but wmp 12 is a liitle bit faster on my pc
     
  4. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    I also use Winamp.. that's the only thing I use for music.. none of that iTunes crap for me.. hahaha I use VLC for ALL video needs and Winamp for ALL music needs.. :)
     
  5. jefins

    jefins New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Itunes pff... so slow, it hangs up my PC, so i use SharePod for my Ipod Nano 3G
     
  6. jimbo45

    jimbo45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    41
    Here's another one for VLC and winamp -- both do their respective jobs 100% and Winamp for ripping CD's to FLAC still works 100% in W7 -- no need to change anything just the "bog standard" install works.

    Actually also for playing music VLC is also a pretty good Audio player too -- most codecs are catered for.

    chers
    jimbo
     
  7. djwayne

    djwayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    27
    Using Windows Media Player 12, I just ripped four cd's into my computer's music file, and then burned the four onto
    cd-r's for my cd player in my truck. It worked perfectly. So now if somebody breaks in and steals my cd's, they'll only get copies, as I keep the original cd's at home. (I have had this happen a few times) The cd-r's sound great !!

    So Windows Media Player 12 passes my test.

    :)
     
  8. jefins

    jefins New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Same here, i've ripped about 25 father's cd's, Latvian and non-Latvian music, and have no problems with them.
     
  9. djwayne

    djwayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    27
    Okay so I was nosing around Windows Media Player 12, and struck gold.....

    I was in the screen where it has your files and libraries.... and found a little thing called "Media Guide," so I followed the link to a website called "WindowsMedia:com beta," on this website I saw an another link to "Gibson Lifestyles," which have a section called "Lessons," that have daily guitar lessons from Arlen Roth.

    Hey it's free guitar lessons sponsored by Gibson Guitars !!!!! You can go directly there at this link.....

    Gibson Guitar Lessons: Learn to Play The Guitar With Free Online Guitar Lessons and Guitar Playing Videos and Tabs


    Or you can dig for gold in the Windows Media Player yourself and see what you find !!!

    :D
     
  10. jefins

    jefins New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Oh, i found that. Cool feature. Thanks for info :)
     
  11. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    This my be a little off-topic, but why is it that you can't change any file extensions for WMP in Default Programs?

    The Only Microsoft app that allowed me to change associations was MS Paint, but even that wouldn't let me uncheck anything, only check extensions that I wanted to add.
     
  12. djwayne

    djwayne New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    27
    Maybe because for the duration of the beta test, they want you to use WMP as your default player ??

    I really don't know. It's an interesting thing though.

    My music files will open up with other programs such as Adobe Audition 1.5....
     
  13. jefins

    jefins New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Where exactly?
    I can change default program for all file types i tried, even those that don't know.
     
  14. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    jefins,

    So, you're saying that you can modify the types for WMP, that they are not greyed?
     
  15. jefins

    jefins New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    4
    Oh, when i go through "set your default programs", i can't change for wmp, but can for some other programs :frown::confused:, but through "associate a file type or protocol with a program" i can change whatever i want.
     

Share This Page

Loading...