Windows Network Diagnostics tool error

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by aliasthad, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. aliasthad

    aliasthad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi!

    Ok, so here's a development. I compared the list of Services when the Troubleshooter is not working to the the list when it is working and there were only 2 changes. Here were the results:

    When the Troubleshooter is working:
    Background Intelligent Transfer Service Stopped
    Cryptographic Services Started

    When Troubleshooter Is Not Working:
    Background Intelligent Transfer Service Started
    Cryptographic Services Stopped

    There was no change when turning the Background Intelligence Transfer Service on/off, but when I turn ON Cryptographic Services, the Troubleshooter instantly works! When I turn it off, the Troubleshooter instantly stops working again.

    So I think this whole problem can be narrowed down to Cryptographic Services and whether it is on or not. It is currently set to Manual startup. Do you know if this would work permanently if it was set to Automatic? I'm going to try it anyway.

    I hope this helps.

    Kind Regards :D

    **Additional: A quick look around the net suggests that Cryptographic Services is supposed to be set to Automatic.
     
    #21 aliasthad, Mar 12, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2012
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You can try whatever you want, just keep track of any changes.

    My Crypto services is set to an Automatic start.
     
  3. aliasthad

    aliasthad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Setting Cryptographic Services to Automatic has definitely solved this problem! Yay! :up:

    Kind Regards :D
     
  4. rainsweep

    rainsweep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you so much with this thread. I hope this solves my problem. I read all the way through and it seems to make sense. I have yet to try it out, but it looks and sounds like the right solution. Thank you so much! Again!
     
  5. aliasthad

    aliasthad New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,

    You are very welcome! I hope it does indeed solve your problem.

    Kind Regards :D
     
  6. rainsweep

    rainsweep New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I remedied the problem. I was working on my nephews laptop PC that would see wifi networks to connect to, but would not complete the link to the internet. It was hanging up and not receiving any data. Reinstalled the network adapter drivers, the solution above and cycled the unit through a shutdown/restart. The cache may have been full since they leave it on constantly for days at a time. Anyways. It connects to the internet now and is again a useful tool for his and their family. Cheers! It really helped out. It got me in the right mind set. Take Care. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...