Windwos 10 Cant find Steam.exe

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by teemosama, Jul 31, 2015.

  1. teemosama

    teemosama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So after updating to windows 10, it seem to not be able to find steam.exe, even when i go straight to the folder and try to open the application from there. Still gets "Windwos cannot find 'D:\Steam\Steam.exe'. Make sure you typed the name correctly, and then try again."
     
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Well, D: is not the normal place for Steam. Have you physically checked the location in Explorer? Maybe a Drive Letter was changed during the upgrade.
     
  3. teemosama

    teemosama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh i have, i have 2 drives in my desktop that i built. C Drive, the main drive that is an ssd that runs all the programs, then D drive being the gaming drive and E drive being for random programs. I checked where they all go but it still doesnt work T.T
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    The only other thing which might have happened is when the upgrade was done it set the default back to the \Program Files (x86)\Steam folder. Maybe you can reset it.

    The individual Game settings and saved games are in the Documents folder.
     
  5. teemosama

    teemosama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive tried that, and it still says that it is unable to find steam. I uninstalled and installed into the main c drive program folder and nothing. Making me really sad D:
     
  6. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    366
    I would try using Procmon to follow the load behavior of steam. Download: Process Monitor
    • Launch procmon
    • Click on Filter > Filter...
    • Click on the drop down menu that says Architecture and select Process Name
    • In the blank area to the right type steam.exe
    • Click Add then Apply then OK
    • Launch Steam
    • Go back to procmon
    • Click File > Capture Events to stop the capture
    • You will want to look through the path column to determine where it's trying to launch steam.exe from
    This should give you some clues as to what is going on.
     
  7. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If you have searched your drive for Steam.exe, it wasn't found anywhere? It isn't listed in the All Apps section....

    It isn't hard to reinstall Steam even though you say you have already done that, the time is taken by downloading the game files.. If you had some type of backup, you may be able to pre-install those.
     
    #7 Saltgrass, Aug 1, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2015
  8. teemosama

    teemosama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    366
    You may not have the filter correct, it should at least get some hits. Have you tried just launching steam.exe from it's folder and/or try creating a new shortcut.
     
  10. teemosama

    teemosama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh i have, and it still says steam.exe connot be opened.
     
  11. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    366
    Post of screenshot of the procmon filter screen and also the full path to steam in explorer just so we can confirm it.
     
  12. teemosama

    teemosama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    So i did everything that the thingy said to do but it not reading any path at all. and ive reinstalled it many times.
     

    Attached Files:

    • no.
      no.png
      File size:
      83.5 KB
      Views:
      28
  13. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    366
    Looks like you're going to have to change your procmon filter to explorer.exe. Steam apparently loads differently on Windows 10, then go into Edit > Find type in steam.exe, then go into Edit > Find highlight. This should show the steam entries, try to post a screen shot or upload the procom capture file.
     
  14. teemosama

    teemosama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    THat is what popped up, when i did the steam highlight.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.PNG
      2.PNG
      File size:
      214.4 KB
      Views:
      20
  15. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,418
    Likes Received:
    366
    I'm assuming you are using a microsoft account. I don't personally use one so maybe someone can confirm that. Look like Windows is appending the \@microsoft... making the exe name invalid. For grins, try making a local account and try and launch steam.
     
  16. teemosama

    teemosama Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im not using a microsoft account, im using a local account. Ever since.
     

Share This Page

Loading...