Won't boot into windows

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by britstu, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. britstu

    britstu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All

    I've been using Win 7 RC for a few months now and this morning I turned on my pc but it won't boot up passed the login type screen. Will try and attatch a pic. It's the screen that has the "Ease of access button" on the left and the Stutdown/restart/sleep button on the right. I think it's like the login page but I've not created an account were I have to log in.
    I've tried using the win 7 disk to repair but it says windows is working fine. :confused: Clearly it isn't :mad:

    Any help would be much appreciated as I'm going mad with this.

    Thanks

    Stu
     
  2. britstu

    britstu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's the pic.. I hope ;)

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Do the buttons do anything if selected? Wnich version of the beta are you using, and could it have run out of time?
     
  4. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Boot from install disk.... go to command prompt and see if you can run

    C:\Windows\System32\UserAccountControlSettings.exe

    Maybe if you turn off Guest logon the screen won't come up.. it will directly boot into your account.
     
  5. xelocity

    xelocity Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the beta runs out march of next year doesn't it? I have it on my laptop and desktop and its still active.

    As far as the log in screen you've got me... i cant really think of anything except for repairing off the dvd or what tblount said.

    Maybe a password reset disk will work? Worth a shot. There are a couple company's that make disks that will reset any version of windows user passwords. maybe that will "un-glitch" it? The program that i have is 3mb and it works great. its a boot cd, .iso. This happened to me with winxp i booted from a linux flash drive, it automatically reset the password and it went away so maybe this is a similar glitch.

    If nothing else works that may be worth a shot before you re-install. .:(
     
  6. britstu

    britstu New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your replies.

    I managed to get it working after several attempts at reverting back to a restore point. That got me into windows but then had a few other problems like no network connection.
    But in the end it's all working fine now.
    Was really odd though :eek:

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...