📎 AI Summary:
The thread discusses a user, rejlocal22, who notices multiple network names listed when clicking the internet icon on their taskbar, all showing as "connected automatically." They are concerned about security and have been unchecking these networks, but they reappear when using the laptop. Another user reassures them that they are only connected to one network at a time and that the other networks are just available nearby, so there’s no security risk or need to disconnect from them. The overall sentiment is that the user’s concerns about security are understandable, but their situation is normal.

rejlocal22

New Member
Joined
Apr 10, 2021
Messages
27
Thread Author #1
Hello,
When I click on the internet icon on the taskbar, I see about a dozen names of other people or companies. The box next to the names is checked off and it states
"connected automatically". I am concerned about this. Should I? I unchecked the all the boxes but then all the boxes are checked off as I use my laptop.
 

Solution
Hi Rej,
you are only ever connected to one network... the other names you see are other networks in your area at the time but you arn't on them so no you don't need to untick any of them

ussnorway

Windows Forum Team
Staff member
Joined
May 22, 2012
Messages
4,597
Hi Rej,
you are only ever connected to one network... the other names you see are other networks in your area at the time but you arn't on them so no you don't need to untick any of them
 

Solution