[7127] issue with installing xpi extensions for Firefox

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by anykey, May 21, 2009.

  1. anykey

    anykey Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hello folks, I have been using Seven since 7000. I now have 7127.
    My problem is with Firefox xpi extensions.
    I have read in the past that this is a known issue with installing xpi, but do you think I can find it now :rolleyes:

    My Firefox addon extensions do not work, nor do they uninstall/reinstall.
    What do I need to tweak, please...
     
  2. anykey

    anykey Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
    I notice many posts on this forum are getting zero replies :(
    Is that coz folk don't know the answer.
    Or, there is no one here to help.
     
  3. oneextraid

    oneextraid Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Did you perform a clean install? Which version of Windows x86 or x64? What version of Firefox? I have W7 7127 x64, clean install, and have had no problems with FF add-ons.
     
  4. anykey

    anykey Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
    Until 7127 I had no problem with installing xpi's either.
    Now I have a problem. I can recall seeing that others suffered with this and that the solution was a tweak somewhere or other. Needless to say I cannot find the solution now.

    Clean install? definitely Yes. Windows x86. Latest FF.
     
  5. chrisharbin

    chrisharbin New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have no idea if this helps, but for flash player, I had to install manually and use the "troubleshoot compatibility" It works now.
     
  6. anykey

    anykey Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
  7. oneextraid

    oneextraid Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    4
    Which xpi's are you using? Did you install the xpi's one at a time and test the install for each? Have you tried to uninstall FF and download the current version again? Make sure that you are not using the FF Beta 3.5. They state that some xpi's may not work.
     
  8. anykey

    anykey Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    4
    The xpi's do not install. They do not run. They freeze the mini window that opens for Add-ons. I have to use Task Manager to close it. Mouse clicking on the Add-on window just chimes "ding".
    Yep :(
    FF3.0.10 not beta.

    Thanks for trying oneextraid :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...