Booting problem (bad one)

Discussion in 'Windows Vista Help and Support' started by nemar, Jun 3, 2009.

  1. nemar

    nemar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks like i've spoken too soon :( even in safe mode i'm having issues...windows is not slow and my OS is perfect...i'm just getting a few blue screens regarding win32k.sys
    I got tired , formatted my HD and reinstalled windows. Everything's fine expect for that damn blue screen...i'm updating every driver right now...i really hope that's the problem :)
     
  2. Celestra

    Celestra Former Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,468
    Likes Received:
    14
  3. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Getting that error usually points to either bad RAM, faulty os installation or your HDD may be buggered.

    If you can get it to run, try testing each RAM module individually (this is important) with: Memtest86+ - Advanced Memory Diagnostic Tool

    To test your HDD is ok, go to this site: Hard Drive Testing Tools - Top 7 Free Hard Drive Testing Tools - Hard Drive Diagnostics and utilise the instructions found there..

    You also really need to find out what your PSU is kicking out power wise..

    Good luck :)
     
  4. nemar

    nemar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey It's me again :)
    I've run a memtest86 and i couldn't run the singleCPU test with the latest version so i did it with the previous one , it "only" found some problems during test n7 ( random number sequence ) : 188 in slot 0 and 205 in slot 2
    I've run multiCPU scan too but it freezed during test 7...it found 46 errors in slot 0 and 28 in slot 2 before freezing..
    Is it bad ? I've never run such a test before..
    Thank You!
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Sounds like you may have some bad RAM. Did you test each stick on it's own?
     
  6. nemar

    nemar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    do i have to manually remove a stick to do that? the errors are on both sticks , could it be only one of them is damaged?
     
  7. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,817
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Yes, remove one at a time and test them individually. If both sticks report problems, just check your bios settings are correct. If they are, then you may have two bad sticks.
     
  8. ThomJ

    ThomJ New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi there i`m new on this forum. I have the same problem, but i think i know what`s the answer!!!!
    is an explanation what to do. i think this problem starts at 4.04. i`m gonna try it today and i`ll say if it worked!!!!!:cool:
     
    #28 ThomJ, Jun 25, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2013

Share This Page

Loading...