Broadcom BCM57781 onboard LAN keeps dropping out and then coming back

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by RoddyJones, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. RoddyJones

    RoddyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I have the above brand of LAN on a ASROCK Z68 Extreme 4 Mobo.
    Router: Netgear DG834G

    The whole computer is about 7 months old and as per another recent thread it has a fresh install of Windows 7 64bit Pro. However since the reinstall an issue that also existed before continues to annoy me.

    Namely, the internet at times drops in and out over a period of hours and then just works.
    CAT 5 Cable has been replaced and tested in another machine and is fine.

    There is another laptop, older Dell with Vista on the network (wired) that has no issues, everytime my PC drops I check it and 9 times out of 10 its still working.

    I just upgraded the latest driver from here

    Broadcom.com - Ethernet NIC NetLink Driver Downloads

    Whilst I prefer Firefox, i normally solve the issue by opening Explorer and using its Diagnose tool. Quite often it will say ' The default gateway is not available'

    One bit of info, it also continously says I am on a ' Unidentified network' and ' Public Network' despite it being a simple home wired (NO wifi i switched it off) LAN. How do you change it back to HOME network? sometimes the Public Network is in blue and you can click it and tell it yet again to be HOME but other times its not in blue or clickable to change.

    Surely there is something we can do other than put a separate LAN card in a slot.
     
  2. whs

    whs Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    106
    The default gateway is your router. One reason could be because the router is set to WEP which works with e.g. Vista, but not properly with Win7. You have to set it to WPA2-PSK. Check that first and post back. If it does not work, we'll dig further.
     
    #2 whs, Feb 4, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2012
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Well, I will assume this is not related to any internet connection, just your network adapter and the router. Since it seems to be dropping the connection for some reason, please post the results of an ipconfig /all command when run in a command prompt window. You can copy and paste or use the snipping tool to take a picture and attach using the paperclip on the advanced reply window. Edit as you see fit.

    You can also check the Device Manager and check if your network adapter is set to allow the system to turn it off to save power. Mine is set that way, but you might uncheck that to see if it makes a difference.

    The next time is loses its connection, open the adapters panel (ncpa.cpl) and disable, then re-enable the adapter. It should resync and regain your connection.

    I understand this is a wired connection, but I will assume network connections are dropped during a sleep cycle.

    If you need any specific information, don't hesitate to post back.
     
  4. RoddyJones

    RoddyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hi, thanks for the replies

    Whs:

    Excuse me if I am wrong but wouldn’t what you ask only matter if I was using wireless? Whilst it is a wireless router and I do turn it on, its only in rare occasions that we have someone staying who brings an ipad or laptop.

    Plus my PC is always wired to the router even if the WIFI is on.


    Either way I did log into the router and look at the Security Options under Wireless settings. The WPA-PSK option is ticked. Though no option for WPA2-PSK

    [TABLE="width: 100%"]
    [TR]
    [TD]Security Options
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]Disable
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy)
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]WPA-PSK (Wi-Fi Protected Access Pre-Shared Key)
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [TR]
    [TD]WPA-802.1x
    [/TD]
    [/TR]
    [/TABLE]

    Saltgrass

    I will obtain that info soon, what items should one for privacy block out in an ipconfig/all screenshot?

    Here is an EVENT VIEWER Log


    Microsoft-Windows-DHCP Client Events/Admin
    Event ID 1002

    Source: Dhcp- Client

    OpCode: IpLeaseDenied

    Task Category: Address Configuration State Event


    The IP address lease 192.168.0.4 for the Network Card with network address 0xXXX has been denied by the DHCP server 192.168.0.1 (The DHCP Server sent a DHCPNACK message).



    Thanks guys
     
    #4 RoddyJones, Feb 5, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2012
  5. RoddyJones

    RoddyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Saltgrass
    I have unchecked ' Allow computerto turn off this device to save power' and i have unchecked IPv6 Connectivity and rebooted.
    This does not seem to have helped.

    See your requested data below


    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : XXRoddyComputer
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-XXXXX
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.3(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, 5 February 2012 7:58:52 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Monday, 6 February 2012 7:58:52 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet1:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet
    1
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00XXX
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3cbd:22f6:346e:195b%14(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.153.1(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 385896534
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-BB-20-66-00-25-22-BD-9B-07
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter VMware Network Adapter VMnet8:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VMware Virtual Ethernet Adapter for VMnet
    8
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-50-56-C0-00-08
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::70c5:4298:a73a:d574%16(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.204.1(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 419450966
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-BB-20-66-00-25-22-BD-9B-07
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{102A07F1-6E6A-471D-A581-7DB781143423}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-XX
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{58148BDC-E538-4452-B200-EEB4A5F0E1B0}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{FFC5DFE9-23C2-4301-8332-68E16500F849}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
    #5 RoddyJones, Feb 5, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2012
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I see messages like the ones you show in Event View, fairly often, but they are usually associated with waking from sleep or reboots or something similar. It is a little different that the message says is has denied the .o4 address when your system is using .03. Maybe another device is interfering with the DHCP.

    I will normally limit my DHCP assignable addresses to a specific range, so I will have some I can assign manually. Maybe something you could try, but I do not know if it relevant.

    Your configuration looks good in the ipconfig report, if you was trying to go bad, you would probably see a 169.xxx.xxx.xxx IP address and no gateway. On another forum I saw someone say the IP address is renewed about half way through the Lease time. You are showing 24 hours on your leases, so that would mean the lease is being renewed every 12 hours or so. Does that amount of time seem relevant? You should be able to change the lease time in the router for testing.

    The VM adapters I have no experience with. I assume you are giving them an address in another subnet without a gateway?

    But right now, the thing I would suggest is to watch the system and try to pin some activity or time span to what might be happening.
     
  7. RoddyJones

    RoddyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I just allowed the VMware to install itself without modifying anything. I followed a tutorial on using VMware and an old copy of XP to provide ' XP mode'.

    Now that I think of it, I did install VMware early on in my original Win 7 Pro install. I might restore to an earlier point last week prior to installing VMware.

    Also, i know i said i didnt want to, but if i simply went out and bought a network card would that fix it? or is it an issue between my PC and the Netgear router regardless?
     
  8. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You may want to give it some time before you buy new equipment, but that is your decision. For now, the ipconfig listing you posted is totally normal, as far as the Ethernet adapter. Maybe you can get us one when the system is disconnected.

    Maybe watching the event log would give you a hint as to what might be going on. Maybe another system is logging on and causing problems.
     
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    If you open the Device Manager, do you show any unknown devices or anything with a yellow triangle?
     
  10. RoddyJones

    RoddyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some further data from event viewer


    6/02/2012 9:56:22 PM
    The system is entering sleep.

    Sleep Reason: System Idle

    6/02/2012 9:56:25 PM
    The browser has forced an election on network \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{102A07F1-6E6A-471D-A581-7DB781143423} because a master browser was stopped.

    6/02/2012 9:56:25 PM
    Event ID 8033
    The browser has forced an election on network \Device\NetBT_Tcpip_{58148BDC-E538-4452-B200-EEB4A5F0E1B0} because a master browser was stopped.



    6/02/2012 9:56:25 PM
    ID: 7042

    The TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper service was successfully sent a stop control.

    The reason specified was: 0x40030011 [Operating System: Network Connectivity (Planned)]

    Comment: None

    6/02/2012 9:56:25 PM
    ID 7036
    The TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper service entered the stopped state.

    Device Manager - image attached but I do not think this relates to it,
    Device Manager.JPG
     
  11. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Can you go to the Details tab and select the Hardware IDs in the drop down menu. Then highlight the top line, and select copy, then report back?

    Many times the Intel Management Engine does not have drivers. I do not know if this is it, but the Hardware ID should tell us and if not, there should be an entry for it in the System Devices list. But the Port and Hub notations you show now would seem to make it some type of USB device.
     
  12. RoddyJones

    RoddyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    just had another drop and checked event viewer straight away

    Event ID 1014
    DNS Client Events
    Name resolution for the name docs.google.com timed out after none of the configured DNS servers responded.
    and
    Name resolution for the name apir.webrep.avast.com timed out after none of the configured DNS servers responded.

    Errors talking about ' no dns servers responding' is quite common
     
  13. RoddyJones

    RoddyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    see here

    Details - Hardware Ids.JPG
     
  14. RoddyJones

    RoddyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another drop!

    Event Viewer

    Service Control Manager
    Event ID: 7036
    The Tablet PC Input Service service entered the running state.
    and on the same Event ID
    The Windows Error Reporting Service service entered the running state.


    DNS Client Events
    Event ID 1014
    Name resolution for the name dns.msftncsi.com timed out after none of the configured DNS
    servers responded.
     
  15. RoddyJones

    RoddyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    I should add - that 3 posts up I also uninstalled the 2 VMnet adaptors appearing in the Device Manager list next to my broadcom. The connection has remained up for much longer tonight since doing this however the last 2 drops are post their removal.
     
  16. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Many times the messages in the Event Viewer come after the event and do not necessarily cause it.

    The unknown device may be a Canon Scanner, or something like that.

    I seems your system is putting the network adapter is putting the device to sleep, but I can only find a setting to allow it to do so. Since mine is enabled, I assume yours is also and should not normally be a problem. You might try changing your power scheme for testing. If you want to try to change the setting, use Device Manager and Network Adapter properties, power management tab. Perhaps some combination of your power settings and that check box is causing the adapter to go to sleep...

    It looks like the master browser being referred to in the other messages is the "Computer Browser" you can find in the services.msc panel. It depends on a couple of other services, but again, this might be a result rather than a cause.

    I have no idea what to take from this message..
     
  17. RoddyJones

    RoddyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    I logged into the NEtgear under Router Status ADSL port and noted there are 2 125.213.xxx Ip addresses for the Gateway Ip address..?
     
  18. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I don't see a Gateway IP address entry on the Router Status page.... But normally, if you have two IP addresses they are for the DNS primary and secondary servers. If you are looking at the IP address, it might be whatever the ISP assigns and the LAN address should be the 192.xxx number.

    I haven't run DSL for quite a while, so there may be some settings like keep alive that might be useful. But I had the impression you thought the problem was just with your computer. Sometimes watching the lights on the front of the Router can be helpful..
     
  19. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Are you running a VPN?
     
  20. RoddyJones

    RoddyJones New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    No VPN, that device could be a Cannon Scanner.

    In fact the whole reason I installed VMware with my old XP copy was to allow me to connect a Canon Scanner that will not work with Win 7 64bit. Due to no drivers being present.
     

Share This Page

Loading...