Cant format my Hard drive

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by Younglink, Jan 21, 2012.

  1. Younglink

    Younglink New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, i recently bought a new hard drive to put my os on, and i stupidly changed my old hard drive type from basic to dymainic, and its not letting me reformat it or convert it back to basic. When i try it says "Windows cannot format the system volume on this disk." Does anyone know how i can fix this?
     

    Attached Files:

    #1 Younglink, Jan 21, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
    Try a system restore to a date before this happened.
     
  3. Younglink

    Younglink New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    is there a way to get "system" off of my L drive and on to my C drive? I think that might be the problem why i cant change it back to basic.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    It would seem that you are in a similar position as discussed in this article here Switching my Windows 7 Boot Disk from D to C with BCDBoot rather than BCDEdit - Scott Hanselman
    And after regarding reverting your disk back to basic from dynamic (without losing data if that is a concern) bdonk contributed this thread here http://windows7forums.com/windows-7-support/3906-dynamic-disk-invalid.html which many have found useful.
    I would of course make certain that I had reliable backups of my critical data as well as a current, valid and verified system image as a strong fall back position.
    Good luck
    Randy
     
  5. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Maybe another option. But as Trouble mentions, backup anything you can.....you might loose the data.

    Convert dynamic disk to basic disk with Partition Wizard?

    Partition wizard can be downloaded and burned using the Home version. But it does state only certain types of Dynamic disks can be converted without loosing data and there is a warning about using the bootable version as a partition letter change might occur.
     
    #5 Saltgrass, Jan 21, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...