Disable or block Windows XP games from Server 2003 Active Directory??

Discussion in 'Windows Server Forums' started by Psyckus, Aug 5, 2015.

  1. Psyckus

    Psyckus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone,

    I've been looking everywhere for a specific guide to block or disable default games (Minesweeper, Solitaire, etc) in windows XP Pro, but I want to know if I can do it from the Active Directory server which runs Windows Server 2003. I want to know if there is a way to do it from there so I don't have to do it directly from the XP PCs one by one.

    Please help, hope I can get a specific guide on how to do it, if there is a way.

    Thanks in advance and regards.
     
  2. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    125
    You certainly can by using a Group Policy on your domain,

    You could add the paths to the games to Computer Configuration > Windows Settings > Security Settings > Software Restriction Policies > Additional Rules

    A good start would be by adding these:
    %SystemRoot%\system32\freecell.exe
    %SystemRoot%\system32\mshearts.exe
    %SystemRoot%\system32\sol.exe
    %SystemRoot%\system32\spider.exe
    %SystemRoot%\system32\winmine.exe
    C:\Program Files\MSN Gaming Zone
    C:\Program Files\Windows NT\Pinball\PINBALL.EXE

    Also if you take away Admin rights on your domain then people can't install any new games :)
     
    Psyckus and ussnorway like this.
  3. ussnorway

    ussnorway Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    May 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    314
    A bit like locking the door to a glass house but yes, group policy will keep most people from playing the games
     
  4. Psyckus

    Psyckus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot, but how do add these (sorry I'm quite new to GP) I right click on Additional Rules. Do I have to add them as New Certificate, Hash, Internet Zone or Path rule? Or is there another way?
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Psyckus

    Psyckus Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    bump. Please help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...