DNS release/renew on every bootup?

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by chaseincats, May 5, 2009.

  1. chaseincats

    chaseincats New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    running the 7 RC x64 at the moment and recently every time i boot up I get local connectivity only and i have to do a ipconfig release and renew before it will work has anyone else had this problem?

    Thanks,
    Jason
     
  2. kingskin

    kingskin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    so it boots up with the right IP set up but needs a renew before it works? or its not getting an IP until you renew it?

    Have you got the latest ethernet driver for the connection?
     
  3. chaseincats

    chaseincats New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe it gets an ip just does not have a DNS server until i ipconfig release/renew it

    and ya just checked I had the right drivers even uninstall/reinstalled them

    lets say that I did indeed have the wrong drivers they wouldnt work after a renew right?
     
  4. kingskin

    kingskin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    true, so if it gets an I.P. the driver must be good.

    Are you sure there is only one DCHP Server on the network? There isnt another conflicting DCHP server set up on a Router or WAP etc which has the DNS missing so that the inital IP assigned isn't from the true DCHP Server?

    Does it work ok if you assign a static IP and DNS server or does it still require a renew?
     
  5. chaseincats

    chaseincats New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    havent tried that yet

    but I would like to note that if i unplug the wired and switch onto wireless it connects w/o any problems first try

    this is really strange what would you suggest?
     
  6. kingskin

    kingskin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    well, set it a static address on the lan and see if it holds after a reboot. If it does, forget about it and leave it static lol. You never know it may sort itself out later in time with a windows update for either w7 or the driver...

    but youre right - strange!
     
  7. chaseincats

    chaseincats New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright ill give that a shot later tonight, thanks a lot for your help
     
  8. kingskin

    kingskin New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    no worries, let us know how it goes
     
  9. chaseincats

    chaseincats New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    will do thanks
     
  10. balcy24

    balcy24 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    What happens when you unplug the Cat 5 cable and plug it back in? I was having a similar problem with my Marvell Yukon NIC. Sometimes I would get a not connected error but others just a DNS error with local connectivity only. If I unplugged and reconnected most of the time it would fix itself. However, I noticed I had literally thousands of driver errors in the event viewer (26,000+ in 24 hours). I installed the latest NIC drivers from the Marvell web site and the problems all went away.
     

Share This Page

Loading...